Learning stuff

in #art6 years ago

Learning stuff

21034507_1714471885282658_6291770942238598084_n.jpg
You can clearly see I control anatomy in this picture (pic from when I was trying to learn anatomy)

Anyway...

Once in a while I try to learn drawing skills instead of just automatic drawing. Can't say it is easy for me as I get bored really fast and deform it all after a minute and wander off. But I know that by learning more about reality you're more able to twist reality. I like to create more kind of scenes from my inner world and create better stories and depth.

Recently I'm doing more sketching and trying out a bit of landscapes and perspective. It's a bit frustrating that somehow I expect from myself that I have to control the techniques in 5 minutes or by just looking at it....

This is a drawing from years ago that I really like because it feels like you can walk around and it is an example of an idea I finished. I also think I succeeded in giving the right message in it.

behindthemask_2013_by_Sander_Jansen.jpg
"Behind the Mask (2013)"

Perfectionism is often the reason I never finish ideas because it isn't as good as I want to....So maybe if I can learn more skills I'm able to create things I always failed doing.

When I was a 3D designer I created more scenes when doing art because it was much easier for me to set up something and no problems with perspective or light/shade.

Example of some 3d works from the past:

destiny_by_by_SanderJansen.jpg
Destiny (2007)

mission_by_SanderJansen.jpg
Mission (2007)

shit_happens_by_SanderJansen.jpg
The urge to create (2007)

My goal is to practice more often and focus less on delivering new artwork. That's the only way to grow...

Thanks for reading my thoughts :)

The book in top image is "figure drawing" from Andrew Loomis ;)

thanksforeverything-sanderjansen.png

Sort:  

Totally with you, Sander. I don´t have the discipline to practise stuff that would actually help becoming better.
And I really laughed at the first two images :D Looks like the creature painfully realized he failed looking like the man above. Thanks for that!

It's really annoying because I want to have the skills. Good to know I'm not the only one avoiding practice...weird thing is that it feels good to get better at something :)

Hahaha yes he looks a bit shocked lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49