Slop (Chaos Familiar) - Painting Guide for Warhammer Quest: Silver Tower #2

in #art6 years ago

Hello from Sydney Australia!

Today I decided to paint up my "Slop's" which are two of the small chaos familiars that come with the silver tower boxed set.

These guys took me about 90 minutes to paint from start-to-finish. Below I will detail the steps i took to achieve this finish using the Games Workshop range of paints.

I'm pretty happy with how they turned out, let me know what you guys think!

Preview:
IMG_9527.JPG

I started by spraying the models with spray paint primer 'Uniform Grey' by Army painter. Note: I won't cover how I do the bases in this tutorial.
IMG_9517.JPG

Basecoat everything with Stegadon Scale Green.
IMG_9518.JPG

Next I painted the lower half of the body with Sotek Green.
Paint the top tail fin with Pink Horror.
IMG_9519.JPG

Wash the tail fin with Fuegan Orange.
Paint the spikes/hair on the body as well as the inside of the mouth with Squig Orange
Paint the lower portion of the body with Temple Guard Blue
Paint the legs, fins and lips with Celestra Grey
IMG_9520.JPG

Wash with 1:1 mix of Coelia Greenshade and Lahmia Medium (everything except the tail fin).
At this point I used a 1:1 mix of Sotek Green and Lahmia Medium to soften and improve color transitions on the lower half of the body.
Use Abaddon Black to paint stripes starting from the spine of the model and going down as shown.
Apply some more Coelia Greenshade to the recesses of the miniature to create some more deeper shading.
IMG_9521.JPG

Now paint the eyes with Celestra Grey.
Highlight the tail fin with Pink Horror.
Highlight the body hair/spikes with Squig Orange.
IMG_9522.JPG

Glaze the eyes with Waywatcher Green.
Paint slits on the eyes with Abaddon Black.
Highlight the lips and fins with Blue Horror.
Paint the teen with Ceramite White
IMG_9523.JPG

Now for the final touches I sprayed the model with testors dullcote and then glazed the eyes with a gloss varnish.
I also went outside to take this final pic as it shows the colours a little better. Yes it's a nice day, maybe I should get some sun?

Done.

Good luck guys and if you have any questions or comments please reply below.

Please remember to upvote if you enjoyed this content and follow me for future content posts and updates!

If you haven't got a steemit account yet, what are you waiting for?

~ James
IMG_9526.JPG

Sort:  

you have a very good technique, keep it like that, i will follow u

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sanctus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Not bad, laddie, not bad.

I paint all sorts of miniatures, GW among them.

Have followed and will look forward to your future posts.

Thank you sir, I paint other stuff to, just gw at the moment!

Yeah, I paint lots of other stuff. GW pissed me of a while back and I have not really had a lot to with them since they banned the UK distributors selling to us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43