'Wellington Coast', Seascape - Painting Process Photos and Final Art Work

in #art7 years ago

I painted this in 2015 and is a seascape scene inspired by the coast of Wellington, New Zealand. I paint this art work in oils. 

I will show you the process of how I created this painting.

I start my painting by preparing my canvas with a thin layer of burnt sienna, this helps with tone and warms up the painting.

I start by blocking in the sky.

I use desaturated colour for the distant headland, this will help to establish a depth dynamic within the painting.

When blocking in the painting I try not to get too bogged down in detail.

Once the blocking in process is complete I start modelling the paint and building up the detail.

I save my tonal best for last.

Wellington Coast, 8" x 12", oil on canvas.

I hope you liked this post, I have more art on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing the process behind your beautiful work.

Thanks @opheliafu, I love sharing my painting knowledge :)

Beautifully painted. Love the whole painting but the part I find the most fascinating is the light just under the wave as it's about to curl over.

Upvoted, resteemed and following you now. 🙏🌀🙏

Thanks so much @allyspirit and thanks for the resteem :)

Pleasure is all mine. And hopefully others who will see it now as well. 🙏🌀🙏

Great painting, thank you for showing the process. (the blocking etc.) gonna try that sometime :)

Thanks @wordsword, glad you liked it, I love sharing my painting knowledge so I hope it helps :)

Astonishing work Samuel, it's perfect :) resteemed

Thanks @speckofdust and thanks for the resteem :)

Wow - so nice to see how you built the picture up. Thanks for sharing this with us @samuel-earp-art
Following you now

Thanks @greenstar, I like your page too, I followed you back :)

You have a remarkable talent! I love it!

Thanks @melnesimo and thanks for the resteem :)

This is amazing! Thanks for sharing

I like your post sir, I am following you

Thanks @vhinz88, I've followed you back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52