'Walter Peak', New Zealand - Plein Air Painting and Photography

in #art7 years ago

I painted this last year outdoors (en plein air). The mountain is Walter Peak which is in prominent view from the lake front in Queenstown, New Zealand where I live. It was a cold winter's day when I painted this.

Walter Peak, 10" x 12", oil on canvas, painted en plein air.

This is Walter Peak, I took this photo on the day I went plein air painting.

I have more paintings on my website at: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

Beautiful! Nice painting and I like the photo even better.

Beautiful painting of this amazing scene has literally been decades since i have been home and made it down there but still remember the natural beauty there

Thanks @tattoodjay, Queenstown sure is a beautiful place :)

Great style you've got Samuel.. Really like this painting

Thanks @outerground, my outdoor painting style in much looser than my studio work.

I've been having a look at your work online.. very impressive landscapes and although I do like your studio craft, I absolutely love your live studies. They remind me a little bit of some of my Dad's painting ! which I am of course a big fan of.. Thanks again for sharing.. would you be willing to sell one of your outdoor studies for STEEM ?

Link to My Dad's cityscapes

Great painting and you really captured the feel, see you around

Great painting and what a stunning place to live. Must be a Mecca for Plein Air painters.

It absolutely is, especially Glenorchy which is about 45 minutes away from Queenstown, brilliant for plein air painting.

Interesting parallele to see photo and a painting @samuel-earp-art. Thank you. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

How many paintings do you produce, roughly each week / month? You seem to be quite busy.

It depends, my studio paintings often take weeks, however my plein air (outdoor) paintings I paint in a few hours.

Which do you prefer more, studio or plein air?

Your interpretation is beautiful. Nice work. Thanks for the post 🐓🐓

I admire the artist that can do what they love and make a living . Are you one of those people? 🐓🐓

Love the painting... you seem to have made it with a few simple strokes! What a wonderful shot of the scene...

You're most welcome! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55