'Walter Peak and TSS Earnslaw', New Zealand - oil painting and photos

in #art7 years ago

This painting is inspired by Lake Wakatipu in Queenstown where I live. The mountain in the background is Walter Peak and is prominent view from the Queenstown lake shore. The boat in this painting is the steam ship TSS Earnslaw which was launched in the 1912 and still runs today as a tourist attraction.

TSS Earnslaw and Walter Peak, 10" x 12", oil on wooden panel

Below is a couple of the reference photo's I used for this painting. I added the TSS Earnslaw steam ship not only because it's a familiar site in Queenstown but it added a focal point to the painting.

Below is the view from the foreshore of Queenstown, the mountain on the left is Cecil Peak and next to it is Walter Peak. I live on the hill on the right side of the photo.

If you liked this blog post, check out my paintings on my website: Samuel Earp Artist


Sort:  

Thanks @the-scuba-sherpa, it most certainly is, I love painting. Followed!

Followed you too!

Great work! :) I like it!

No worries! I'll keep an eye out for more... :)

Great painting! It looks so life like. and great photos.

Wow. New Zealand is beautiful, as are your paintings of it! Great work

Thanks @chrissymchavez, New Zealand is a beautiful place for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58399.10
ETH 2475.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38