Time Lapse Video - Painting Outdoors in Kinloch, New Zealand

in #art6 years ago


I painted this artwork outdoors in Kinloch, New Zealand a few months ago and this is a speeded up time lapse video of me painting it. As the seasons are in reverse down here it was mid winter when I painted this and my hands were freezing! I also had to paint quickly as the light was fading fast.

Painting outdoors is known as painting 'en plein air', a French term for painting outside.

This artwork measure 8" x 10" and I painted it in oils.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Looks such cool. :) Good job

Amazing :) Love seeing you actually at it :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Painting at mid winter, that is truly a dedication to art. I'm glad that you wear gloves, but your face must be freezing as well.
                     
The result is worth the pain though, very handsome artwork.

That music is perfect for the scenery. It's so good to see how you painted it. For some reason when I paint (once in hundred years) I start from the bottom so I was surprised to see that you actually start from the top sky and mountains. Is this how it should be or is it your style? Might be a silly question but I know nothing about painting :)

Your painting is great!

That was quite amazing to watch! I'm remembering the paint by number kits I did as a child that would take me a month to complete! Was this all done in one session? How many hours do you estimate that it took?

So awesome @samuel-earp-art; I loved seeing the process in your video. And why is it that "en plein air" sounds so much sweeter than the English alternative? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81