Time Lapse Video - Painting Outdoors in Fiordland National Park, New Zealand

in #art4 years ago

This is a speeded up video of me painting a landscape, outdoors en plein air in Fiordland National Park, New Zealand.

Painting outdoors is known as painting 'en plein air', a French term for painting outside. I love painting outdoors especially when I get to visit some epic locations within New Zealand.

In this speeded up video I painted a view of Mt Talbot and Mt Crosscut in Fiordland National Park. This is one of my favourite places to paint outdoors and one of my favourite views to paint.

I have painted this view many time and I have done several studio paintings of this scene.

Painting en plein air is a great way of really capturing the atmosphere and mystique of a location. For me, my plein air paintings are becoming like a diary of my life...but in paintings.

Whilst my studio paintings are detailed my plein air painting is much more loose gestural, a style that painting outdoors lends itself so well.

Follow Me on LBRY

You can watch all of my painting videos including this video on my LBRY channel, the brilliant alternative to YouTube.

If you would like to see more of my art, check out my website.

Sort:  

Hi! You rock with your works :) Would love to follow you on https://commun.com. Hope, you will set up there your own community with your own token and get donations from the first day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00