Sam's Painting Adventures - Ballyconneely, Ireland - Art and Photography

in #art7 years ago

I am currently on my travels and I'm at present staying in the Connemara area of Ireland. It has been cloudy for days but finally the sun came out yesterday so I immediately got my gear ready to go plein air painting.

It was a beautiful evening last night and I stopped of in this location near the village of Ballyconneely and painted this view.

'Evening Light, Ballyconneely', 9" x 12" (approx), oil on canvas, painted en plein air.

I absolutely love painting outdoors and I think there is something special about painting landscapes that I have travelled to rather than just taking photos. Plein air painting is a great way of creating a visual painting diary of places I have visited, I love the idea of travelling the world and documenting it through my paintings.

This is a photo of my pochade box easel I had set up yesterday for outdoor painting, it's perfect for travelling with.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post, I have more paintings on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

wow nice work!

Very beautiful! How much time did you have to work on that given the fading light?

Thanks @arayebrown and sorry for the late reply, I have limited internet access at the moment. I painted this in about 2 hours. Plein air painting teaches you to paint quickly especially because of the changing light.

Upvoted & resteemed

Thanks for the resteem :)

Very nice work @samuel-earp-art, upvoted & resteemed. Do you use a photo tripod for your painting work?

Thanks @photo-trail and sorry for the late reply, I have limited internet access at the moment. Yeah, my pochade box mounts on a camera tri-pod. It's a great set up for travelling with.

Is that your DIY or a box has a screw mount by design?

That was really interesting. Great photos my dear. I enjoyed that journey very much :-) @samuel-earp-art

You've managed to capture such a nice view! Excellent job!

😳 outside painting looks nice always @samuel-earp-art

Yeah for sure, you definitely get an aliveness and vibrancy through painting outdoors.

Beautiful work, working towards being able to do this myself. Would be awesome to just travel the globe and paint all the places I go.

Thanks @dcrockete and sorry for the late reply, I have limited internet access at the moment. I definitely want to travel and paint more for sure!

No problems, we all have lives outside of the internet. Although it's becoming less apparent these day lol.

A beautiful landscape painting 🎨

I enjoy following your work. Where to after Ireland?

Thanks @leoplaw, I will be in Guernsey after Ireland and I'm heading there next week. I'll be there for a few weeks and then we plan to stop off somewhere on the way home to New Zealand, but I am not sure where yet...stay tuned :)

Same Bat-Time, same Bat-Channel... =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67