Pencil Drawing - Seascape - 'Port Soif, Guernsey' - Art and Photography

in #art7 years ago

I've just completed this pencil sketch for my next seascape painting which I will start tomorrow. I am currently staying on the island of Guernsey at the moment for the next few weeks. Guernsey has some amazing coastline as it sits on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. It is a brilliant place for getting photo reference for seascape paintings.

This evening I was scoping out areas for plein air painting and I stopped at Port Soif on the west coast of Guernsey. The weather has been very windy for the past two days which has whipped up a large swell and therefore perfect conditions for taking photos for potential dramatic seascape paintings.

As with all of my sketches I start with a few quick thumbnail drawings then a final drawing which I then refer to when I am painting the scene. I can't wait to get started on the painting tomorrow.

'Port Soif, Guernsey', 297mm x 420mm, graphite on paper.

These are a couple of the reference photos, the sea conditions, light and general atmosphere was absolutely perfect. I even got some great cloud reference photos too.

Whilst I was taking photos I unfortunately didn't realise my camera lens got wet due to the windy conditions and the spray from sea. Some of my photos aren't the best but that's ok because they are still good enough to use for my painting. It's always my aim to create paintings that are better than photos.

I posted a seascape sketch a few days ago in which I am currently working on a small painting of my sketch. It's very nearly finished and I will post it to show you as soon as it's finished. I am working on a few paintings at once at the moment.

I hope you enjoy my art works and seeing my process, I have more art on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

I'm excited to see how this develops- the colours in that final photograph are beautiful

Thanks @opheliafu, I'm going to start blocking in the painting tomorrow :)

I can't make the difference! Insane work!

Awesome! Look forward to seeing the painting :)

That would be spectacular painting. I love such a scenery. My dream is to live close to the ocean. I am looking forward to see the final moment. The shots are remarkable. The sky full of brightness and the sea like always exploding the power with excellent movements 😊Up my friend

buen post, espero tu apoyo

Sam your drawings are getting better each time. Ted Kautzky would be proud 👌😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49