Pencil Drawing - Seascape, Guernsey - Art and Photography

in #art7 years ago

I have just completed this pencil sketch of breaking waves over rocks in prelude for my next seascape oil painting. The sketch is based off the area of Pleinmont in Guernsey, Channel Islands.

As with all my pencil sketches I do a few thumbnail sketches first and then a final sketch. I am going to be starting the painting today of which I'll be referring to this pencil sketch.

These are two of the reference photos I have used, I like the large rock on the right side of the photo and this will be a feature of the painting. The other thing I like in this photo is Lihou Island in the distance, this will give reference that it it Guernsey.

And in this photo I like the rocks on the left side, I also love the soft light on them. This will become a main feature of my painting and will help to lead the eye towards the breaking waves.

Stay tuned for my painting...coming soon.

I have more art on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

beautiful postt.

you have talent, i hope can be like your :D

Nice one, I love your seascapes. Is there any difference from NZ coasts?

The coastline definitely looks different here in Guernsey. I just started the painting today, i'll post it on Steemit when it is finished :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48