Painting the Remarkables Mountains, New Zealand - Art and Photography

in #art7 years ago

I painted this art work in February this year outdoors in Queenstown, New Zealand where I live. The mountain range is called The Remarkables and is in prominent view in Queenstown.

I painted this in morning as the sun was directly behind The Remarkables and there were lots of shadows which always gives a painting more depth. 

I used oil paints to create this art work and liquin as medium which thins the paint as well as speeds up the drying. This is a great medium to use when painting outdoors.

The Remarkables, 10" x 12", oil on canvas, painted en plein air.

This was the view I painted, The Remarkables are in the background and the line of trees are growing in the Queenstown Botanical Gardens.

The hill on the left behind the tree is Deer Park Heights which was a filming location for the Lord of the Rings movies.

My finished painting. I paint on loose canvas which I adhere to a board with masking tape.

This is me painting having the time of my life ha ha!!!

I have more art on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

Great photos, story and paintings! Don't know if you are familiar with Canada but Banff in our Rockies is very much like Queenstown, except most days not so busy - after one day in Queenstown I described it to my wife as 'Banff on steroids'!

Thanks @brightongreg, I have never been to Canada but I would love to go and spend some time painting the landscape there.

Are you the next Picasso?btw nice picture

Kia Ora @samuel-earp-art, We are The Curator, (A Magazine style post on Steemit) We do curating for creative, artistic. knowledgeable, & entertaining. yet undervalued posts. We liked your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post, that we will use as a thumbnail, And we will share some of the post gifts with those posts that we share in that issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment.
Thank you. The Curator.

Thanks @biglipsmama, yeah sure feel to share my post, that would be great :)

Thank you, awesome we'll work on that today.

That is amazing, such a beautiful place to paint too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71