'Owhiro Bay' - Oil Painting

in #art7 years ago

Hello Steemians, I painted this small seascape a couple of years ago and it served as a colour study for a larger painting.

This painting was inspired by the dramatic coastline around Wellington, New Zealand. I painted this in oils on a wooden panel, which are lovely to paint on especially for small paintings.

Owhiro Bay, 180mm x 260mm, oil on wooden panel.

This is one of the reference photos I used, I really like the dramatic breaking waves and the highlights on the white water. I added clouds in the painting which always adds more drama and atmosphere.

I have more paintings on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

Wow, very beautiful and very strong artwork! You can clearly see how intense the water flow is!

Gosh. This is beautiful! Would love to use it for another Steemit collaboration if you're up for it!

Yeah sure, let me know what it is :)

Sure! Keep an eye out on steemchat :) What's your username on there?

That's a lovely painting... and coastal scenes can be very dramatic; and adding the clouds was a good decision, for sure. Really like how you captured "that light" which only seems to be around water/sun!

Thanks @reddragonfly, I add clouds to nearly all my landscape / seascape paintings :)

You're on fire!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66