NEW PAINTING - 'Cliffs of Guernsey' - Art and Photography

in #art7 years ago

I painted this yesterday outdoors en plein air at Petit Bot beach on the island of Guernsey. For the last two days I have been running a plein air painting workshop for the Sarnia Arts and Crafts Society.

Here is the art work I painted.

Cliffs of Guernsey, 8" x 12" (approx), oil on canvas, en plein air.

This is the view from Petit Bot, which is located in the south of Guernsey. This is a beautiful part of Guernsey and is characterised by high cliffs and jagged rock formations. Guernsey is located in the English Channel and is one of the Channel Islands.

Whilst running the plein air workshop I started with a painting demonstration and then the group started on their paintings whilst I supervised. The tide at Petit Bot goes out very quickly!

This is some of the painters in the Sarnia Arts and Crafts Society.

This is me working on my painting.

This is my finished painting, it was such a beautiful day, couldn't have asked for better weather.

Check out my website for more of my paintings: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

Your painting work is very nice @samuel-earp-art, but your photos from that open painting workshop are not less interesting. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks for the resteem @photo-trail, very much appreciated :)

No stuffy studios for you Samuel, plenty of fresh air and sunshine.
I've missed most of the Summer being in the studio.

It's actually really nice to get out of the studio and get outside in the fresh air to paint.

I have a couple of friends that paint plein air and since I'm following you, I'm tempted to have a go some time. I have one of those box field easels for the job.

Wonderful- i really like the depth of your shadows across the rocks. I could see this photograph making a wonderful painting too!

Thanks @opheliafu, it was a great day and I really enjoyed teaching this workshop.

Great piece of work. One definitely gets that feeling of rugged rocks and a moving tide.
Good post, and it looks as though your class was thoroughly engrossed in their work. I hope they all returned home with their own works of art. 🎨

Thanks @katdvine, it was a really enjoyable day, I'd definitely like to teach some more plein air painting workshops.

I like your art, and thanks for sharing these beautiful photos!! upvoted and followed you :-) Best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42