'Mt Pembroke', New Zealand - Oil Painting and Photography

in #art7 years ago

As some of you may know from following my Steemit profile that I often paint pictures of Milford Sound in Fiordland, New Zealand.

This painting was a studio painting of The Lion and Mt Pembroke which is in prominent view from Milford Sound. I am always trying to achieve a 19th century style to my paintings and I wanted to emphasise the tonal ranges in this art work. 

The Lion and Mt Pembroke, 24" x 30", oil on canvas.

This is one of the reference photos I used to create this painting.

This is the classic Milford Sound view. I took elements from the foreground of this photo and incorporated it into my painting.

I have more paintings on my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

great painting like it

Jeez we live in a beautiful country. Keep up the inspirational paintings. Also, how long did this take you to complete?

New Zealand is a beautiful place. All up including the sketches and colour study around three months!

the art of painting you truly beautiful and amazing for me to see it. Thank you already share your art.

Great work on this particular piece. Felt like I'm there lol. Also, looks like a different style compared to the other paintings you've posted up before this, which are more broad-stroked

Thanks @kevinwong, my outdoor plein air paintings I paint using broad brush strokes however my studio work is detailed.

Beautiful as always. Well done!

It looks so beautiful ^_^

This Post was Added to the Steemit Social Media Queue.

This is cool :)

Omg, it's truly amazing...looks so real and beautiful

This art has layers upon layers... love the strong distinction between the foreground stuff and the hazy background mountains.

Thanks. This painting has many layers, it took weeks to paint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37