What have I learned from living with a famous artist?

in #art8 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCING ROM YAARI

I have mentioned in previous posts that my family & I have no fixed address and instead we have dedicated our lives to traveling this great & vast land in the knowledge that true education comes from experience, not from books or the internet.

We are based in Bali at the moment and I have been helping a number of people out with my camera magic over the last few months, which happens to be something I enjoy doing very much.

Recently I made the decision to move my family (my partner & I and our 19month old baby, Esteban) into the home of a local artist who lives in Ubud, an ex-pat by the name of Rom Yaari. A potentially risky decision with my partner around 7 months pregnant and a certainty that Yaari was not your average kind of person. The word extrovert doesn't even come close to describing him.


This is the painting that hangs above my desk now and gazes down on me with its special energy while I do my work.

Within days of meeting my family, he enticed all of us into a body painting art therapy session...

Here you can see Esteban getting involved as we all did that day. Which went on long into the night on a crazed adventure to a beautiful Russian sauna nestled into the jungle in a way that reminded me of Home Tree in Avatar.

During this art therapy session a huge painting double canvas was created with our assistance... He calls this process 'art release'.

This is the result of our co-creative afternoon:

It took him a month to 'finish it off' after its initial day of co-conception. He works for short periods of time on multiple pieces. So in reality that month was probably more like a few days.

Why did I decide to live with Rom Yaari?

His work and energy inspired me the moment I met him and he mentioned the idea of making a little documentary about his life. As is the way in my own life, I just followed the flow of energy which felt right to me in that moment and agreed to take on the challenge. He offered me free accommodation in a beautiful art-filled house and offered to share his life with me without cencorship. Despite never having made a biographical documentary I felt confident that his stunning work and extremely outgoing character would carry the film and guide me with it.

And that is exactly what has happened. A beautiful 20min film has already been created and is currently being sent around Hollywood. In time I will know if it is to find a wider audience in its current form and will hopefully be able to post here for you to see. Or at the very least provide a secret download link just for Steemit users.

Since meeting Yaari

I have had my mind opened on a number of subjects. Not just because I have been listening to the many stories of his long & interesting life, but mostly because he is a true artist in every sense of the word and infuses his love for art and creative freedom into every aspect of his world.


This is a more recent example of his exploration into the world of digital art.

What has Yaari taught me?

He has taught me patience - because he loves to talk! Mostly about him :)

He has taught me that creativity can heal.

He has taught me that co-creativity is LOVE.

He has taught me that the past is a dangerous thing in the way that it can dominate our 'now'.

He has taught me that some people have multiple personalities and it is hard to know which person they are at any given moment. And this can be both frustrating and confusing as a video editor getting mixed feedback from 'them'.

He has taught me that drugs can open a door-way in the mind. And once it has been opened, there is no turning back.

He has taught me that when one is connected to source energy one can tap into a power greater than anything which can be summed up only fractionally in human terms with our one simple word, LOVE.

When is Yaari going to join us on Steemit?

With my assistance Yaari is currently creating a profile here @yaariart and will be posting in the introducemyself category soon.

It is his intention to post one piece of art for us each day with his thoughts relating to it.

And I am excited to see how he will be received here....

Thank you for your support :)

Sort:  

An amazing use of colour, so vibrant. What an exciting adventure!

It sure is an exciting adventure. Thanks for taking the time to comment :) Look out for @yaariart when he appears here. His work is truly spectacular.

Wow incredible work! Thanks for sharing your stories and artistic passions. (Following for more!)

My pleasure. The journey will be long & colourful :) Followed back.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Fascinating post, thank you.

Thank you Michael. Great to see you here! I have followed you to see what you come up with :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52