Feed The Starving Artist - Super Massive UPDATE!!!

in #art7 years ago (edited)


So this day started out a little differently to the others, actually rather excited about today.

This update was meant to come out yesterday but due to real world difficulties I had to push back the update to now.

So I got up, checked the account, yes, got the coin now, excellent. (there were some delays unfortunately).

Told the lovely mystery artist you are about to meet about what was happening, (she had forgotten but that's okay, this is like getting a gift twice instead of once!).

Set her onto my blog to read through all of the lovely messages on the post previously (which I am still yet to reply to, ugh I feel like a chump) and rushed off to the ATM.

This is where the fun started.


8mrqqgs.jpg


"Hey, can you come outside for a minute" - "Sure no problem."


TpUMkrl.jpg


"Remember those lovely comments on that blog I showed you? This is what happened as a result of that." hands over $130

And this is where things go a little out of control, in a good way. Incoming happy face.


Ho8BXl3.jpg


You can almost see the "Now what am I going to do with this" thought flashing through the mind. Looking so gangster, I giggled some at this.


ktQlUVZ.jpg


Shaking it like a Polaroid picture right there!!! Haha, the blur is real.


tMOdZ0E.jpg


After all the excitement came a concern that the wind might blow her precious win away, so it was folded and put into the pocket for safe keeping, good idea I thought.


rSsnp4S.jpg


And as a bit of a sammo special, I figured we should throw the customary thumbs up for everyone that took the effort to comment and view the previous post.

She is actually signing up for Steemit right now, so that's a resounding success in my opinion.

I am beyond humbled by the response here, each and every one of you is an amazing individual and have so much respect from me it is not funny.

So many thank yous for giving me this chance to prove my integrity and honesty to you here with this update, the trust you put in me is beyond any dollar value I can name. I have no words for this feeling.

And infinitely more thank yous for helping someone dear to me, recognizing their work and allowing me to even write this.

You made her day, you made my year. I love you all.


sammok-2-footer.gif

PS, actually considering anonsteeming an account for her if she gets sick of waiting, maybe that can be next gift from steemit to her?

https://steemit.com/art/@sammosk/to-feed-the-starving-artist-some-art-for-you

previous post there for anyone that would like to check out the other artworks.

Sort:  

Incredible! thank you @sammosk for everything you do on this wonderful platform.

Thank you for participating so I have something to do!! :D

Much loves. <3

It's great to see the actual OUTCOME of giving a simple upvote on a post. This kind of stuff happens all the time for people who post sincere and earnest content on steemit and essentially anonymous strangers come along and tell them it's great. It's a good feeling, and it's sweet that you could capture that and share it with us. Well done, for her and you!

Artists always need all the help they can get especially finances side. Im usually on the same boat.
The massive industry exploitation of creatives using the 'exposure' card never puts food on the their table so always good seeing people helping out each other.

Yeah, she got roped into that one once, paid an 'art studio' or something some cash to present her work, they made some words about 'it is highly likely some will sell', nothing did unfortunately.

I hope she finds a home on steem it.

Young and naive musicians face this a lot as well. The pay to play model.

Yeah I don't know if it's a very good thing at all.

The places that show such art have a requirement for the artists, not the other way around, it seems backwards for the artist/performer to pay.

Writers do too. Everything that can be exploited will be exploited by one person or another. The thing that artists of all breed must try to avoid are those that, while exploiting, don't have any intention of sales or exposure. Those are the ones that give the entire lot of them a black eye.

It's all in the turn-of-phrase at that point, all about the gimmick where they can say "we never made any promises of sale." I'd love to see people like that have to back up their "likely"s with "if they don't sell, you will be refunded" such-and-such. That's what I'd like to see. I think if I were a curator or some such, I would do just that and offer to give back the money if nothing sells.

The publishing company I went through, I would not have if the contract did not stipulate that I get all profits until the money I paid in is refunded, then they only take 20 cents or something like that.

What you set up sounds good to me.

I just dislike the whole thing of being able to vaguely word things and get away with murder, and case in point the artist suffers from an intellectual impairment and I feel like there is potential they took advantage of her.

Makes me angry as hell.

Definitely. I know there is something called the 'Lemon Law' here in the states for car sales where, if you take it home and there's such-and-such wrong (I don't know all the details) you can return it to the owner and get your money back... at least, that's how I've heard it.

I also think there are some things in that same vein that can be done about people taking advantage of the intellectually impaired. Is there nothing she could do or have someone do to get her money back as she was taken advantage?

I guess, in the end, it would be difficult to prove.

if you pay to get in you invalidate the incentive that the organiser slash curator has to sell.

they've already been paid.

Only made that mistake once, but it was expensive and hard won lesson

I have later made several variations on the same mistake, as befits my creative nature
:)

Hahaha you are hilarious, I'm looking at my comment feed and you've been nailing it.

Yeah, I really don't think it is a quality way to encourage further development of the artist, not only does it encourage sameness because everyone emulates that which sells, but it discourages you because you pay to create, pay to have it seen, and pay in emotions when it doesn't work out.

Thanks for visiting, much loves and respects. <3

It infuriates me not only how many (especially beginner) artists get hoodwinked by that but how many people ("normal everyday" people not just massive industry people) actually seem to sincerely believe that this is okay.

aww her smile tho. ❤💋
Upvoted 100%
Im so happy for her. ^_^

She is super dooper happy that's for sure!!!

Thanks a bundle for your support @hayleyaerith.

If any of your friends over in TP want to help out, that'd be awesome!

Much love and respect. <3

Great stuff Sammo! That's awesome and even better she's signing up for steemit because of your efforts! You rock man, keep spreading that peach love <3

I plan on it. Steem it for the win!! Get in amongst it! :D

Thanks for taking the time to comment and support @sasha.shade, I hope things are doing better for you now.

Much love and respect. <3

Yay to feeding starving artists!!! I have some arty friends I keep telling them they should join steemit - I guess this is what it takes!!!

Yeah who knows hahaha, well it worked!

Thanks for your support and the comment. Much loves and many respects.

Actually, just looking through the art section inspired me to make a post of a drawing I did a couple of months back - take a look and tell me what you think!
https://steemit.com/art/@kate-m/the-panther-grabbed-me-encounters-with-the-mother

when is an artist become the artist - where is that line - anyone?

The moment you create.

This makes me so happy! That smile! Man, it made me crack one that hurt my cheeks.
Welcome to Steemit! Well... welcome soon! Can't wait to see what you bring to the community!

Awesome job, Sammo! You're good peoples!

I almost fell over laughing at the antics, it was super cute/funny/excitable. None of it was staged I just snapped a bunch of pictures while she danced about all excited. (Bar the thumbs up thing anyways)

Thanks for supporting me during these few steps in the greater journey. Much loves and respect. <3

Good peoples find good company. Wave of cheek pains just swept over Steemit :) (ouch!)

Seriously. A huge tidal of lovewaves and feelgoods. This made my night so much better to see.
And man, can we just talk about how genuine and awesome her smile is for a second?

Good to see someone get paid cash for their hard work and not for posting videos of themselves at the pool

wait till summer!! Sammo's got it all worked out.

You one great steemians worthy of emulation. Keep it up !

You are too kind!!

Thanks for visiting and supporting mate. Have a good one. <3

welcome dear and check out my blog post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59