Caricartooning Made Simple 👍

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Yo! ✋ Today, I'm going to share with you guys a recent project that I did for my sister - a caricartoon (portmanteau of caricature + cartoon) of herself 👆. It took me a little less than 2 hours for this one. It's relatively simple since I know my sister's features pretty well. If you guys were following my posts, I have written a similar blog post, as an entry for a contest.

The Subject

This is my sister, Ylla, but we call her Poyong (my parents have rather high creativity scores in naming their kids 💯). She has very distinct features that is why it is easy to make her a caricartoon. I pointed out said features below:


She also requested to have her signature pose 🙄 incorporated to the drawing:



The Process

As per usual, I used the pen and brush tools of Adobe Photoshop CS6. When I draw in photoshop, I make use of rulers and guide lines so I can make proper estimates of where the lines should connect. Also, prior to everything, I make a base line drawing for the head (in light blue). Below is a gif compilation of the initial layers including the head and hair:

Next are the facial features. In doing caricatures (or caricartoons for the matter), distinct features especially those in the parts of the face are often emphasized by enlarging them. Here I made the glasses and her smile big. Since this is only a cartoon, it's not really necessary to follow all the specifics of the face as long as the person is recognizable even with the cartoon effect. See the process below:

gif 2.gif

Then, I added the upper torso and the hands. I usually don't do full-body drawings since I haven't got the hang of it. Also, I am still not comfortable with adding color so let's just skip that part for when I am already okay with my coloring skills. 😅 This step is shown below:

gif 3.gif

Finally, I added the final touches and details to give you this:



Trust the process.

.
.
.

Saiyanide \m/

P.S. If you guys have questions,

don't hesitate to leave a comment.
C'mon now, I don't bite. 🤓

Sort:  

Cool tip! Nice post! More in the future please! hehe

Thanks! I will do my best. 🤓

@saiyanide - you are welcome to check out @ainie.kashif's cool post's called Hallo Hallo - a fun and informative place for newbies...

Great! I'll check that out. Thanks for the info! :D

Hi @saiyanide, your work is so cool loving it, you are a very talented artist. I hope to see you there in the Hello Hello Group and have fun joining us! Wishing you a pleasant day.
Thanks @rlt47 for the introduction, appreciate so much.

Hello @ainie.kashif checked out your blog but I couldn't find the post. Mind sending me the link instead? and thank you! :)

Hi @saiyanide, thank's for checking out, here is the link but you need to join fast as this week's one almost expire, read the rules, thanks and
see you there! https://steemit.com/steemit/@ainie.kashif/hello-hello-steemit-2-weekly-sbd-giveaway

Hi @saiyanide! This post deserves to be featured in our SteemPh Iligan daily featured posts but to qualify, does this contain more than 300 words?

Hi @steemph.iligan! Last time I checked, this post contains 335 words haha 😁 and thank you for considering! 👍

Your post got featured in our Art compilation. :)

Thank you! Sml ❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67408.93
ETH 3491.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70