Have you ever wondered how hand made Jewelry is made?

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I recently learned how to make jewelry from my father. His family has been making jewelry for generations. I'll show you step by step on how to make a silver cross from a technique called lost wax casting.

The first thing is to get a rubber mold of what you want to make. I had a rubber mold of a cross. Prepare the mold. I used regular baby powder. Coat it lightly.

Next you'll need to inject melted wax into the mold. I used a wax injector that had been heated up for about 20 minutes. Watch it shoot in the mold.

Carefully open the mold and pull the wax casting out.

Attach the mold to a sprue and place inside a metal sleeve.

Next, fill the metal sleeve with plaster of paris. You'll want the finest grains.

Let it rest for up to 5 hours.

It'll look like this when it's hardened:

Next, cook out the wax. I used a bbq grill and left it in there for at least 3 hours.

After 3 hours, put the mold in a centrifugal machine, melt the silver in a crucible, and let it fly!

After the melted silver is inside, carefully lower the mold into a bucket of water. The plaster should just crumble easily if it was cooked enough.

You'll be left with this rough looking silver. Cut out your jewelry.

Clean it up, and here is the finished product!

Me with my Steemit handle, mold, and finished product at my workbench so you know I'm really in the videos!

Good luck and get creative!

Sort:  

can you site the source of videos ... @saintedguapo ....

Add your channel link in steemit profile ....

@saimegh It's unlisted on my YouTube Channel. To verify that it's really me in those videos, here is a picture of me on my work bench with the finished cross, my Steemit name, and the rubber mold I used. I'll add it in the original post as well. Thanks for the resteem!!!

Congratulations @saintedguapo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42