Capturing an Artist: A futile yet pleasant experience.....

in #art7 years ago

I have just a hazy memory of when I first started sketching but in retrospect, it just seems like it has been forever. It probably started when I was alone in my room while the other kids were out and I was too lazy to play catch so I started doodling on a piece of paper instead. But when I recently stumbled across my old sketches, it triggered a myriad of memories in me which were latent for a long time. It is not so much the memory that is associated with the sketches but rather the feeling during that time. But well, I guess the feeling was a memory though I feel the memory afresh in my consciousness when I think of it which takes me into denial of it ever being a memory.

This one is of one of my idols whom I cherish too much not to capture. He is none other than the real Slim Shady, Marshall Bruce Mathers III or most commonly known by his stage name, Eminem. This sketch is a representation of how the world perceived him, how he has evolved and how I see my change across the time though not parallel to his but somehow relatable.

On the right side you have Slim Shady; Mr. Don’t give a fuck. He’s young, energetic, and stupid at times and loves it. He’ll take the most famous contemporary name and make a joke out of it. He’s surrounded by controversies. He likes being that way. But he also has a lot of anger in him. He hates that he is angry but can’t help it. He uses music like therapy. He makes songs like Kim and Cleaning out my closet to address the women in his life directly. But the honesty that he spews out of it is something that raises the hair on the back of your neck.
12417711_760360860763975_1928863192150939868_n.jpg

On the other side, there’s a wise man who’s been through it all. He has been angry. He has been sad. He has laughed and made people laugh. He has been loved and hated. He has had beefs. He has the same passion that he did when he entered the game but now he does not have the anger anymore. He realizes what he has been through and appreciates it. He is honest to himself and says he loves his mother and ex-wife in spite of the differences they have.
And all the while, he has never stopped expressing his love for his daughters.
Now, me on the other hand, I feel funny even trying to associate myself with him. But nonetheless, I have overcome my loneliness and obsession over trivial thoughts via his music and my sketches. He helped me escape but along the way he taught me there was no need to. Transforming from a lonely kid in his room doodling to someone who actually found his true passion, it was redemption that I found while I sketched this. His existence is precious to me.

I am really happy I got to share my feelings about this man on such a platform like Steemit.

Thank you so much! Take care steemians, this has been a really good post to write.

Sort:  

Amazing Sketch and nice write-up brother... My fifteen cents :D

Welcome to Steemit... I see you're quite a scribbler...
I too write sometimes! You can read my intro post here : Creatovert's Intro
It's more than just a simple intro!
I think you'll like it. :)

thank you so much.... i sure will......
followed....

Good post.
Keep it up bro.
Resteemed.

thanks bro....

I love this. The depth you feel for Eminem is very relate-able to me. I think I'm making the right decision making this my first resteem post .
Please Keep on bringing more of your work!! :)

thank you so much you liked it @eyedeology ..... :)

Aww Yeah Rap God, this is too dope.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41