Jingi(仁義) means and Samurais historysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Hello steemians!
I am RYO!

Do you understand the meaning of my Samurai manga title "-Jingi-"?

Although it is Japanese, it is a word that is not used so much now, so I think that people who learned Japanese also do not know much.

Jingi means, translate the explanation of Japanese dictionary↓

1 Jin(仁) and gi(義). The fundamental idea of Confucianism.
2 A moral path to protect. "The act of taking on honor" "I respect jiyoshi"
3 Duty of courtesy indispensable to others. Obligation.
4 "From moral (jinzi)", "martial arts and laws" of fellows such as Bashuchi and Taisho (Palm). Also, a greeting of the first meeting to be held within that group

Did you understand the meaning in this?
If so, you are amazing! Because I can not understand in this explanation😆

The original "Jingi" meaning is very difficult.
But in modern times a slightly different interpretation is possible.

In contemporary Japan I think that the meaning of "Jingi" will be like this.

1 Cherish morality And act according to morality, live way.
2 Always respect courtesy. Respect courtesy and respect for person the most.
3 To cherish "Giri(義理)" and "Ninjou(人情)"

  • Giri(義理)→Correct path of things. Also, the right way to protect as a person
  • Ninjou(人情)→Mercy as a person. Compassion for others. Movement of human natural mind. The human emotional feeling.

4 Do not do dirty acts. Always live he right way as a person.
5 Always act with responsibility.

It will probably have this meaning. Why "probably?"
Because Jingi expresses by action rather than explaining in words. So difficult to explain with words.

And fully translate Japanese in English…impossible.
Because the background of each word has Japanese meaning…

In hundreds of years old samurai was the chiefs village in Japan.
They have a strong sense of responsibility to protect villagers as village chiefs in their long history…
And in order to protect the villagers, village chiefs need to fulfill our responsibility not only by words but also by action.

So the samurai are silent(Exactly "Kamoku 寡黙". The closest words are "silent", but the meaning is still slightly different)

These words are often used to express the spirit of the samurai.
This will lead to the original spirit of the Japanese as it is↓

義 誠 勇 徳 仁 礼 情

But the spirit of that wonderful samurai is in danger of extinction in Japan now…

That's why I wanted to make the spirit of the samurai manga.
And the meaning of Jingi(仁義) is conveyed in my manga.
Like the former samurai wants to tell their heart by action rather than words.

Please look forward to my manga in the future!
Thank you for reading!

Real Samurais↓



Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by RYO from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey Ryo, we've never crossed paths in AkibaSteem before, mostly due to timezone differences I guess but I saw your post now and thought about leaving a comment :D

I studied some japanese for a while, 6 or 7 months... I've found out that while studying a language you'll learn a ton about the country and its cultures and traditions. I'm sad to learn that modern japan is losing the spirit of the Jingi and the Bushido. That incredible discipline and dedication is one of the things that I respect the most about japanese culture.

Japanese has so many complex words to translate... while I'm watching anime I listen to the voice-acting and then look at the translation and it's off the mark like 90% of the time, but then again, a literal translation won't convey the meaning either :D

It's a ton about actions and the backstory of the words, even similarly translated words have a place and a time to be used, like: 私,俺,僕 are all translated to "I" but are VERY different.

Well, this marks the end of my comment, see you around :D

Thank you for comment!!
Yeah, I think there is a further time lag because I have less time to watch steemit…😅

Yes…Probably Japanese is a very difficult language.
I think you know…Japanese has "hiragana" and "katakana" and "kanji", words are different in men and women and in the area…
As you said, I think that it is really difficult…because japanese many "I" 😅

Now, most Japanese still value politeness and sense of responsibility.
But most people are indifferent to serious problems…People remain silent about Fukushima, the destruction of the environment and the arrogance of the Japanese government.
Current Japanese people lack too much sense of responsibility for the next generation people😞

So I think rather people abroad are trying to keep the spirit of Japan…Wonderful people who love Japan by watching Japanese anime.

So I wish to convey the right spirit of Japan to such wonderful people.
And I welcome wonderful people like you!!
Thank you for comment!!🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

I actually find japanese as a very simple and logical language as far as grammar and vocabulary goes... the real problem is just as you said: hiragana, katakana and by far the worst: "kanji", the existence of multiple dialects make it harder as well.
Don't feel discouraged about japanese people not standing up to global problems and the next generation... it's the same everywhere, no one cares about the problems of the many, instead they focus on their own problems, on own to make money and provide for their family...

Well, it's true that many japanese anime and manga do keep that essence and spirit and I believe it's influenced many of us to give a hand, support each other, work harder and hope for a better tomorrow.

Yeah, Japan is a small country, but I think the variety of words is really wide…There are many "Japanese words" that Japanese people do not even know😅

Surely you are right.
Everyone has the utmost in my life…
By the way your Cuban?
I'd like to visit Cuba one day.
Cuba has a particularly various problem but I think it is a wonderful country that is independent!😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I'm cuban and when you visit, do make sure to tell me so we can meet!

Cuba has mostly social, political and economical troubles (which means we're pretty bad overall) but most people stick together and help each other however possible. I've meet some japanese people here too, one of them even teached some japanese in the University of Habana as an afterschool course.

Yes, ofcourse!
I want to earn money so that I can go to your country as soon as possible!😆

I heard that Cuba has various problems with the US government…
Can not make Hawksbill turtle products by repression?

Oh, Japanese?
Did that Japanese immigrate to Cuba?
I think migration to Cuba is not easy…😬

Posted using Partiko Android

It's very interesting, such deep and almost abstract meaning of this word :)

Thank you for trying to explain the meaning of the title of your samurai manga, @ryo-6414 :)

Yes, very difficult to explain everything by words with Jingi.
So I draw "Jingi's conduct" in manga😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60505.16
ETH 2622.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61