You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Oranguthanos" - A Sample of Digital 3D Sculpting with ZBrush

in #art5 years ago

I was so very happy when sculpting became a thing XD I mostly do characters and I don't like edge modelling x_x but that's how I made my Blender bases because that's what I had to work with at the time. I sculpt my characters out of the bases now though which makes everything so much easier XD

I hate retopo but that's another story, and in fairness I don't hate retopo nearly as much as I hate rigging

I kind of wish I hadn't stopped pirating software all those years ago, as then I would have pirated ZBrush to learn how to use it. But as I was not being a pirate then, and ZBrush refused to have a trial version (props for self-confidence?) and instead tried to pass off Sculptris as the "introduction" thing (I've used Sculptris before Pixologic snapped it up and froze it, and in fact introduced other people including my children to it as an easy and actually pleasant way of dipping your toes into 3d, but it's exactly nothing like ZBrush) so I ended up with 3d Coat instead (which is fine because its retopo tools are magical and it does everything else I need it to do except match Blender's scale which is making my current painting job difficult). Probably would have helped immensely if I actually wanted an industry job though.

Oranguthanos! XD He(?)'s looking good :)

The Blender monkey looks more like a chimp to me

And yay for having an easier time with the software, perhaps you just needed all your current experience as now you're only learning the program rather than trying to learn the program while you're also learning 3d?

Sort:  

Thanks, bro. I felt the same way back in 2003 when I saw a demo of ZBrush that came from a magazine freebie CD. I was blown away by the playback of a head sculpting demo and how it made it seem so easy to create human head, as opposed to the usual way of box and edge modeling.

But it was difficult to get into as I didn't have a graphics tablet yet at the time, and also, it was a skill that was not needed at work.

Years later I also discovered Sculptris around the time it had been snapped up by Pixologic. Still, sculpting was a no-go for me then. Then in 2015 I decided to try sculpting again, but with Blender, and I immediately got hooked.

Sculpting with clay was one of my hobbies when I was younger, and that's why it picking up its digital counterpart seemed so easy for me. And the only thing that really got into the way of my learning ZBrush was its freaky interface.

I really had to force myself to watch the beginner videos at ZClassroom over and over again until the necessary info got hammered into my head. And, yeah, being an experienced 3D artist helped a lot too.

Oh, btw, there is no need to pirate it if you want to try it out. Pixologic has been offering 45-day trial versions since 2016. In the office we have 10 seats that are underutilized, and that's why our boss wants some of us to get up to speed on it.

And if I ever get so good at using it that I become a famous artist working in a big studio somewhere, it's because of Thanos and Blender. I will let Ton Roosendaal know about it. LOL! I guess a proper time lapse sculpting video is in order. 😀

Cheers!

Ahh see when I was investigating ZBrush it was early 2000s (can't remember exact year, just remember it was when I was in my old house and I know when I moved into my current house).

That's as good an excuse as any for making a proper timelapse sculpting video, but I don't think anyone needs an excuse to make one of those beyond "felt like it" ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60814.60
ETH 2715.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44