You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The holey Demo - Sand sculpture

in #art6 years ago

I'm assuming te cut-through is that hole at the top with the two figures inside? And that was big enough to fit you while you worked on that? That makes that thing a bit bigger than I thought it was XD And I'm trying to work out if death by sand would be an embarrassing way to go or "at least you died doing what you loved" XD

And how did you convince that thing to stay upright? The weather looks pretty blustery! It did come together really nicely though :)

Sort:  

Yes a cut through is where you make a hole through the sand. It is always difficult to give sense of scale in a sand sculpture photo. Now I usually make sure a person is in the picture. The figures in the hole were a little smaller that life size.
There have been times when I have done quite dangerous stuff with sand but usually it is a calculated risk. But you just never know if the sand is going to fall until it's too late. The sand would for sure crush me if it fell but I lived to make another sculpture.
Danish sand in general is quite strong and is selected for this reason. If it did come down it would be more like blocks of soft clay.
Sometimes I am even surprised at how my sculptures stay up.
Thanks as always for you comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46