A little work project: Cast iron lamp deconstruction (part 1)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Like many in this California economy, I have several jobs. They allow for creativity, which I appreciate because monotony is torturous.

Before moving out to California in August 2007, I never considered myself artistic. Moving out here introduced me to many artistic people that inspired me to be creative and make art.

One of my jobs is for a lady that owns a little shop that does high-end event coordinating. She's planning a gig in Vegas that requires a lavish centerpiece covered in gold flake.

These are the two cast-iron lanterns my boss had me buy from the thrift store. I am deconstructing them for centerpieces and making them shorter.

IMG_6279.JPG

The first step is to remove the shades and start at the top of the one on the right.

IMG_6282.JPG

These wires are not needed, so deconstructing this will be easier as I'll just be able to cut them all out.

IMG_6284.JPG
IMG_6283.JPG

Now these are all taken apart. This is an old one for sure. Look at the base on the right and you can see the shine that it used to have, where the base was removed.
IMG_6285.JPG

I took out some of the middle red glass pieces to shorten it to the height my boss required. It came together quite well. Now that she approved it I can take apart the rest and clean it.

IMG_6287.JPG

This one came off easily. Let's move onto the rest.
IMG_6288.JPG

OK those are all done and separated.

IMG_6289.JPG

I'll be coming back to work tomorrow to finish cleaning these and starting with the gold flake. This will be my first time working with it. I'm looking forward to learning this new talent from my boss and sharing it with you all. 😁

Sort:  

Looks great so far :D

Thanks love. =]

Wonderful photography you are working good @ ryanarcher i have upvoted you post
thanks for shariing
i am following you follow me back

baby WELCOME.gif
Babies are cute, Steemit make you go coo, here's an upvote, from me for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81