Painting an Effective Iceberg in Acrylic

in #art7 years ago

This week, for my 50th painting ever, I thought I'd try out something new. After a little searching, I found a picture I was quite interested in:

blue-icebergs-blue-water.jpg

As my first iceberg scene, I thought it might be a good idea to document the progress.
As always, a good sketch helped to structure the scene and pave the way for the whole painting (sorry for the dodgy photography, too):

#1.jpg

With that, a dark, contrasting sky was added; contrasting to emphasise the brightness and colour in the ice itself, as well as the very basic shadows of the ice structure.

#2.jpg

After that, the highlighting areas were more defined and it was time to block in the reflections and the remainder of the ice structures. Using various shades of blue for the ice (Pthalo blue, Midnight Black and Titanium white) and subtle greens for the reflection (Pthalo blue, Viridian Hue and Titanium white).

#3.jpg

After this, I touched up a little of the left structure and defined the right iceberg - as well as finalised the underlying water colour, ready for the reflection.

#4.jpg

With that done, I could add various shades of blue (ranging from a mid blue to straight white) to reflect the iceberg highlights in the water, and to finish the painting.

#5 - Finished.jpg

Completed in acrylic on 30x40cm MDF Panel. As an amateur artist, it's always fun and exciting to try out new techniques as scenes. This painting was my second to use grids and sketches.
For a complete list of my work, check out https://www.instagram.com/ryrythepaintingguy/

Sort:  

Great painting process blog :)

Thanks! I'm going to try to do it with most of my paintings from now on :)

This is cool...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58