Water Color Trees

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I did another art today and I'm here to present it to you guys. You see, I made this water color painting of trees that I just did this afternoon.

So here above is the finished work that I did. I do not know if it is good but I know that those two objects really look like trees, so maybe my illustration is effective here. Doing tree drawings is a really interesting activity. Other people even go outside their houses just to observe trees for their tree drawings. It can develop skills for observing natural patterns like leaves, wood grain and other stuffs about trees. Why not look at trees anyway? They look lovely specially the old big ones. I love trees...

Step by Step of making my Wonderful Painting:

1 First thing to do if you are using water color paper is to wet the whole surface of the paper before proceeding to doing the illustration. Doing so will soften the dried out grain of the water color paper. Another thing with wetting is,it will make any water based paint not sip too much into the paper that can greatly affect the image of the painting. Just look at that water color paper, it's kind of thicker than your ordinary paper, probably it will suck some paint into the paper if you don't wet it first?

But in my case, I am not using any water color paper but just an ordinary illustration board so I better just damp the parts that I will be working with cause wetting the whole surface of the illustration board will make the board a little crumpled, it is not designed to be wet.

2 I applied some light brown with loading a lot of water into my brush. Just dilute the paint with much water and try the brush in a scratch paper to get the right mix. I first then drew the trunk.

3 Next is some branches that I expanded in this manner as shown below.

4 I then added some leaves by applying some yellow green into the branches. Just dab the brush you are using with the loaded yellow green into the paper. Just make sure that you are using the right brush. You can use bullet point brush, a fan brush(if you're good at using it, BTW Bob Ross is really good at using it, check him out at Youtube), a flat brush is possible too. At my case, I used a bullet point brush to do my leaves. Nothing really special about bullet point brushes, there is no needed skill for it, just dab it.

5 Add more color into the leaves like dark green and brown(mixed with green) to give variations and mixed impressions. I think, with more practice I can do better than this but for now lets just be happy with this. I know I'll get better on it soon so I better be patient about it and so are you.

In drawing, patience, hard work and inspiration is needed, there are no shortcuts to being good with it. I suggest to keep motivated by watching videos and reading articles and posts about art here in steemit, specially my posts. :D

About the choice of water color, there are two kinds of water color mainly; the tubed ones which you mix in a plate or vessel with some water and the flat cake ones which you dab with watered brush before applying it on your paper. To tell you, both have advantages and disadvantages. One thing about tube water color is that they're so easy to mix up to form colors and you can control more of it's strength and value than the flat cake water color. The disadvantage I see with tubes is the wastes of it when using it and it is often more expensive than the flat cakes.

Flat cakes on the other hand is so straight forward and direct. This form of water color is more suggested to children cause of how easy they are to use and to introduce. They are cheap but not as expressive as the tubed water colors.
6 I then added another tree to make the drawing more interesting.
7 Then added some roots to make it look cooler.


Ending this Post

Did you enjoyed this post? If you do, why not upvote? Thank you for dropping by and see you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40