My February Sketch Challenge

in #art7 years ago

Hi Steemers!

As an aspiring artist, the most difficult challenge we face each day is where to get the motivation to start sketching, drawing, doodling, and just get creative.

For the month of February, I want to share with you the challenge I committed myself to do so I can practice every day.

First off, I have already listed what I had to sketch each day. Like this, I don't have to scatter my thoughts of what I am going to draw. You may also notice I am following a theme which is "Space" or "Galactic".

DSC_0057.JPG

The reason I have not posted this from the beginning of February is that I wanted to try it for myself first if I can really follow the simple challenge.

So here are my entries for the last three days. You will see that they are quite simple and nothing really too abstract or deep. The purpose of this challenge for me is to just practice each day. To have something to draw and get my hand moving, because as an artist who doesn't still have my own signature, practice and trying out different mediums is the best way to find my comfort zone.

  1. Space Ship
    DSC_0059.JPG

  2. Star (which would have been too easy if I just drew a star, so I decided to draw my constellation)
    DSC_0060.JPG

  3. Space Shuttle
    DSC_0061.JPG

Today which is the fourth day I'm going to show you how simple it took me to do the challenge.
I started off with a light sketch or you can say a doodle, depending on your style of sketching. I do this just to get the idea of what and how I wanted it to look like since I was using watercolor and ink for the last few drawing I am going to be sticking to it.

DSC_0063.JPG

Then I drew over my ink. I am using Faber-Castell Pitt artist pens in F, S, XS.

DSC_0065.JPG

Finishing it off using my Rembrandt watercolor and a white uni -ball gel pen for little details. It doesn't have to be super flawless, I am using a normal paper so I could not put too much water, to begin with, but it's good to practice mixing colors and washes even in small ways.

po.JPG

Hope you get inspiration and motivation to draw and sketch each day. I'll be posting a video at the end of the month for all the sketches I made for this challenge.

Keep steeming.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rosescale133! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rosescale133! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31