Making images by chance - The gut feeling method - insights into a working proces

in #art8 years ago

Don't think, just do and make things visible.

Drawing and collages are my two main activities within my artistic practices. And after a few posts of my drawings, it's time to focus on my collages, which is created through a (non)specific way of working.
Unlike many other collage- makers I construct no new image from various cut outs and selected image fragments. I work directly in photo books, where I cut or saw certain portions of an  image.
This creates a window (read: peep hole) from one page to  another, so the image constructs itself without premeditation.
It's adding by omitting.


The plan is to have no plan

And at the same time there's no specific method or consequence to unravel in the way I work (The way I make incisions). First,  I only observate the image and let the picture act on me. When ready, I  make incisions on gut feeling. (If it were not so dangerous I did it with my eyes closed!).
It's only in the after consideration, I understand ' the why and how.'
For example:
In the image below you can see very clearly that I have cut in the 'line of action.' The crop images accentuate the movement and increase  the action of the snapshot. A fluke that's right for me, so successful.



It doesn't always work out succesfully. I have to make many cuts, fail a lot, to make one interesting image occasionally. But when it 'happen' (out of the blue) it's always surprising when new images arise, the moment several cut out pages come together in one image. That's a really great feeling...

What attracts me is the alienation of our recognizable reality, by layering, that gives different perspectives.
Something I find exciting en interesting to watch.

Currently I have 25 edited books and for this post I selected some examples of LIFE MAGAZINE (collected works).  They're all images that stand on their own as 'finished' work.


















 


Sincerly yours,
romaan-namoor

#art #collage #romaannamoor

Post Scriptum: it's my third attempt to post this article and hopefully all my images are visible now. Because that what went wrong in my previous two post ...

Sort:  

realy love your art man

cool @romaan-namoor you blow my mind, its great!

It's great and I'm glad these images can do that. They have the same effect on me, but I didn't knew they also could have such an impact on others. Really great and thanks for sharing me your thoughts!
Cheers!

not at all, I realy like your art!

Awesome stuff, I might like these even more than your drawings. The ice skater and boxers are especially good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80