Functional nude - double selfportrait in walnut ink on paper.

in #art8 years ago


Over the years, I've made quite a few self-portraits. And that has nothing  to do with an excess of self love but with the fact that I can't afford models, so, I have to pose myself.
First I make photos of myself (with remote and tripod), so I have something concrete to start with.

These drawings are study means, in order to exercise and to keep myself sharp.  In addition to ratio, composition and other image aspects, I'm also intensively engaged in light.
Something I captured well in the following work.


'Studie #218' (Self portrait - Diptych)
Walnut ink on paper
(2x)21,9x29,7cm
2016


Warm regards,
romaan-namoor

#drawings #nudecontent #romaannamoor

Sort:  

Very cool! I did not notice your blog yet. And now FOLLOW

Ah, very nice and thank you!

Wow... I mean great work! I remember having models at school but I never did that again. Maybe you can ask a friend to pose for you? To be honest after seeing all your work I would love to learn from you.

Every now and then friends or acquaintances are posing for me, but that's on an irregular basis and I need a certain frequency. And in addition, not everyone is willing to pose nude ... so no, that's not an evidency. But you understand, if the opportunity arises, I grab the opportunity with both hands!
Few years ago I gave art lessons (several courses in fine arts) to young people as well as to adults, so I would be able to teach you some lessons, poeticsnak!:)

I have followed a few lessons in my past. I always want to learn how to make portraits because that is something i really find hard to do. I tried it over and over but I am never happy with the outcome.

Drawing has everything to do with good observation and that's something everybody has to learn. And after that, you have to experiment and practice.

There are playful exercises I used in my classes, inspired on this book:

Some background information: http://www.learn-to-draw-right.com/right-brain-drawing.html

It's a non-convential approach on drawing.
The exercises are developed to look in a different way, loosening and the childlike joy of drawing. Totally not result-oriented, but playful, draw to draw.
It helped me greatly in developing my own skills, so I can recommend it to everyone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81