I'll tell you what I did last Summer: I designed a donut shop.

in #art7 years ago

I have a degree in Literature, which means--on paper--I lack marketable skills...

I borrowed the idea for these LED color-changing polystyrene donuts from http://benjaminphelan.com.
IMG_5204.JPG

IMG_5207.JPG

IMG_5206.JPG

IMG_5210.JPG

After cleaning up these old commercial whisks, I installed lamp kits, and an some upward projecting LEDs to throw colorful shadows onto the ceiling. The counter is a piece of Corian, backlit by bright LEDs.
IMG_5214.JPG

IMG_5243.JPG

IMG_5237.JPG

The donut display is a re-purposed Krispy Kreme case. I had to rebuild it to open from the back. The brand is a CNC cut piece of Lucite. The backdrop was inspired by The Simpsons.
IMG_5245.JPG

IMG_5191.JPG

IMG_5244.JPG

My favorite accents are these Verner Pantom "Flowerpot" pendant lights.IMG_5225.JPG

IMG_5182.JPG

This gig just fell into my lap from a friend who opens experimental restaurants. I was actually able to apply aesthetic skills I developed writing. Believe or not, the craft behind most artistic endeavor is parallel. The universe is funny like that, as perceived by the human brain.

Thanks for looking!

Sort:  

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

They look tasty enough to eat. <3

Thanks for sharing.

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52