Electron Microscope Aberration Art

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I snapped this cool image a few years back on a Transmission Electron Microscope I was working on. I don't recall what the specimen was, but the scope was having a lens problem and that is why I was able to capture this cool shot. One of my favorite aspects of my work is the strange things I see in labs. This oddity occurred on one of our own TEMs. What you are seeing are poor electron diffraction rings, that I colorized with a dash of blue. I will explain Electron Microscopy more in future posts.

I think the image looks rather celestial.

Instrument: Philips CM 12, 120 kV TEM
Energy: 120 Killovolts
Camera: 10 Meg CMOS

 photo Diff 85.0 mm 5.0 seconds 120 KV no.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58445.95
ETH 2616.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41