Driving Through Dusk - My First Painting Ever!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Driving Through Dusk


Driving down the long California highway
I noticed in the distance a serene magical glow
It was a pleasant way to wind down the day
The colors seemed to mix with a perfect flow

Captivated by the sheer beauty before my eyes
I wished I could preserve it for all eternity
I knew I couldn't paint but I still gave it a few tries
And the end result turned out pretty lovely

What a perfect mix of blues and oranges and greens
Casting a magical glow across the road and land
How I wish my paining could do justice to it on these screens
How I wish the gods of the arts could guide my hands

So here is my art, the first painting I've ever done
I don't know if it's actually any good
But I gave it a shot, so in my eyes, I've already won
I hope the point of my painting has been understood.


23158104_10209611542267343_1875926083_o.jpg


As we were driving into California on our recent road trip, the sun was beginning to set and we were getting an amazing view of the silhouette of the mountains in front of us against the backdrop of an incredible blend of colors.

I found myself completely captivated by what we were seeing right in front of us, and I suddenly had the urge to paint. I thought to myself, Damn, it's too bad I can't paint...But then I almost immediately rebutted that thought with a So what? Isn't it at least worth a shot? And you know what, it was.

So I whipped out my iPad and opened up my Sketches Pro app, unsheathed the new Adonit Jot Pro stylus that I had recently gotten in the mail, and started painting. I chose the thicker paintbrush and went into watercolor mode, setting down each layer of color on a new and separate layer. Each shade of blue is supposed to represent another level of mountain further back.

Obviously it's no van Gogh...but I don't know, I feel proud of my work. I guess I'm proud of the fact that I decided to just go with the flow and give it a fair shot. I have not painted anything before, though I've always wanted to. The weird/interesting thing is that after I painted this, my sister sent me a picture of one of the paintings she had recently done, and it was quite similar to the one you see above!

Thank you for sticking with me, I hope you enjoyed my brief little venture into visual art. :P



!steemitworldmap 35.099125 lat -116.286163 long We saw it right around this area d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rodeo670
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=driving-through-dusk-my-first-painting-ever


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Love it! Such a great way to support our brothers and sisters! :)

It's beautiful!!! I would be proud of it if I were you too!! :)

Thank you so much!! :) I'm so glad you like it.

Cool art @rodeo670 😊 followed you.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it :)

If this is your 1st..done on a whim, then u have a talent waiting to be explored. This can be another venue for u. @errymil never painted till he went to Sedona. Have fun, remember me if u do go to Sedona.Kampay!!

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words! I really have been wanting to paint or even just draw, for years...in fact, I used to be "good" at drawing when I was a much younger kid. Somewhere along the line, I put the visual artist in me aside. Maybe it was right around the time that I got put on Ritalin. Anyway, I'm actually planning a trip to Arizona for Decadence this NYE, so I'm also currently looking into the feasibility of a side trip over to Sedona! :D

Oh so you set it aside!! I don't like anything that affects the mind..i heard it numbs you.
To live in Sedona, even for a short while is my ultimate dream..it can heal you there..spirituality wise. I love that place.
The vibes you get is amazing.

Indeed. I feel like I lost a lot of my creativity as a kid because of the pills I was on....but the important thing is now I am regaining access to that creativity! Hopefully it shines through in my writing and my other artistic endeavors. :)

Reborn..nkw is your time to shine through.
See you on discord.

Thank you so much!
I really hope that my creativity can really flourish through my activity on Steemit.
:)

I believe it can :)
So it's all up to u.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SaipanDamashii from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Oddly cartoon-esque but not. Very subtle and very stark in the use colour.

Thank you for your input! I admittedly don't know the first thing about painting or watercolors :P But it sounds like your comment was a good one. What sort of recommendations do you have for me if I were to try my hand at visual art again in the future?

This is lovely! I like how you intensified the colors as the painting progresses from top-to-bottom, just like we'd see in everyday life! Nicely executed! 😊

Thank you so much!! I really wish I had good enough artistic talent that I could accurately reproduce on screen what I was witnessing in real life....my painting really doesn't do it justice! :P

Nice work! 😊💛 I can't wait to buy some arts supplies. I will have paintings and sculpture possibly in the near future.

Thank you!! I look forward to seeing your posts that showcase your artwork! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43