Humble Beginnings - A Tusk & Claw timeline

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Since joining Steemit in January I have been motivated to get back into jewellery making and I'm really glad!

A reflection on the past

When I first started tinkering with wire around 2012 I've always gone through phases of being super motivated, to not wanting to do anything. At one point I made the commitment to try and live solely off of my craft.
I hated it!
I quickly realised if I was going to earn a decent living from the jewellery I'd have to be making every day, regardless of if I wanted to or not, promoting my work online and at events became a chore. Essentially all the positives I get from making things had gone. Forced creativity is not something I do well at.
Anyway, I decided to ease the pressure by becoming a dog walker. I really enjoy it and it pays the bills. Now I can create when I want so when I do make a sale it's a bit of a bonus.


Continuing the reflective theme I've been looking back at my old work and I thought some may find some inspiration in seeing the progression of my art over the years, I know I do!

So here's a couple shots from way back in 2012 when I began messing around with some electrical wire scraps and some cheap and nasty diy pliers. I had no clue what I was doing but I was having fun.

Incidentally both of these pendants sold at my first market. I was well pleased!

Here are some shots from markets over the years. It's cool to see how my display methods changed. For the better, I think.


First market ever, I was a tad hungover from antics the night before, can you tell?!


I was approached by a Christmas pop up shop a few years ago and had a fair few items go to new homes which was cool


This is a bit of an odd scene out of context! I was knocked off my bike resulting in titanium pins in my elbow (they're still there) and a painter friend of mine had a nice exhibition space coming up so she painted some close-ups of a few necklaces. I believe I was on quite a few painkillers that day :P



Doing proper festivals was intimidating. I shared a pitch with a maker friend of mine and we did ok. The overheads for these events are quite high though and there's no guarantee you'll make them back so I probably won't be doing any alone for the foreseeable future.



I hope this post was at least a bit interesting to some of you. If it has inspired someone who's just getting into a craft to pursue it then I'm happy.


Current items for sale on Etsy: https://www.etsy.com/shop/tuskandclaw

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/TuskandClaw

Join fellow Steemit Makers: https://www.steemmakers.com/

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Very nice post, please give me about the procedures to be professional stamians, I am very happy if you want to give me upvote in every post I, for your willingness and time I thank you. Signed. @zayanfaruk

hmm commenting asking for upvotes but not actually upvoting my post, write good content and you'll get upvotes. I'm not upvoting your content because you've asked me to it doesnt work like that sorry

no hard feelings just some friendly advice :)

You got some unconditional puppy love and a 100.00% upvote from @puppybot courtesy of @robali123!

aspect.png

Dear Puppybot,
Yesterday I was send to you 0.05 SBD for (https://steemit.com/innovation/@asraful18/bangladeshi-scientists-build-less-expensive-and-more-powerful-wearable-cloud-jacket) the post link. but you are not upvote my post or you are not refund my SBD. I thinks this is your mistake. so please refund my SBD. thanks.

You got a 16.67% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @robali123! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You should not have used bid bots so early. Remember not to use them at least before a day, when you write a great post.

I would like you to have some close look ups of each piece, and some background on them. And should be originally posted here for a better curation.

thanks for your comment, I'll remember next time about the bots, wasn't aware of the etiquette regarding that.
This was more of an overview of my practice, there are lots of posts with close-ups on my blog if you're interested.

You certainly have a great deal of talent and vision for turning wire into absolutely stunning pieces. What I like most about your work is that I see your pendants and think about how great they would look with designer dresses and ball gowns.
I'm with you on forced creativity though. My inspiration plummets when I'm boxed in.
Keep up the awesome work!

aw, thanks for the kind words. I'd never considered going that route but it would be fun to explore if given the opportunity

You got a 21.05% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @robali123!

Very nice bro! Happy to see your works!
Very good post!

This has received an upvote from the @minnow-aid subscription service.

You have really grown. Your old designs are creative too. I really liked the paintings of your designs. Keep growing :D

thanks mate. always been into creative things over sports of academia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29