Building the Tower of Babel in my mind

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Today I'm sharing a project with you, that kept me busy for approximately 80+ hours.

While I was living and working in London some years ago, I experienced lots of new feelings. Being away from my small home town in good old Germany was all new to me, so homesickness, uncertainty and even sometimes lonelyness were common companions especially in the early days living abroad. Ever since I was a young boy I used to express my feelings in drawings, because I am not that much of a talker.

My expressions resulted in a very high detailed drawing of the Tower of Babel. I certainly can't explain every detail to you, but I hope, as you now know the circumstances of it's genesis, that you take your time to go on a journey and discover the different stories hidden and inserted in this piece.

Attached to this post you find the b/w version, which is ballpen only and took me roundabout 50 hours, and the coloured version, that got a Photoshop makeover and took about 80 hours.

Feel free to take a look at my portfolio: http://dropr.com/kaiosart or ['kai.os] on facebook.

Are you also into drawing? Please comment and share your work, I'm always interested in some new inspirations!

And for those, who are only into travelling: My deepest apologies, the next post will cover the Khe Sanh Combat Base in Vietnam :-)

+++ http://roadweirdo.com +++

Sort:  

Congratulations @roadweirdo.com! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94