"We are ALL mad here" - The progression of The Mad Hatter. (My original artwork)

in #art8 years ago

If you saw my "Daily Holi-Art" post yesterday, you may recall that it was Mad Hatter Day.


You also my recall that the drawing that I post as said Holi-Art, was just a sample of a larger picture that I was working on. 


You remember that, right? Good.

Now on to today's post. I grew up watching Disney's 1951 version of Alice and Wonderland, and even as a young child, my favorite character was the Mad Hatter. He and I just...clicked. So naturally, when I found out that yesterday was Mad Hatter's Day, I thought I would do some research on what the original Mad Hatter illustration looked like. 

Then this idea hit me...Why not create a piece of art that shows the progression of The Mad Hatter over the years?!

So I've included pictures of my finished piece of art, along with my favorite Mad Hatter quotes.

Enjoy!




Mad Hatter: There is a place, like no place on earth. A land full of wonder, mystery, and danger. Some say, to survive it, you need to be as mad as a hatter. Which, luckily, I am.


Mad Hatter: You used to be much more..."muchier." You've lost your muchness.




Alice Kingsley: I'm sorry I interrupted your birthday party. Thank you.
March Hare: Birthday? My dear child, this is NOT a birthday party.
Mad Hatter: Of course not. This is an unbirthday party.


Mad Hatter: No wonder you're late. Why, this watch is exactly two days slow. 




Mad Hatter: Have I gone mad?
[Alice checks Hatter's temperature]
Alice Kingsley: I'm afraid so. You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are.


Mad Hatter: Your carriage, my lady.
Alice Kingsley: A hat?
Mad Hatter: Of course. Anyone can go by horse or rail, but the absolute best way to travel is by hat. Have I made a rhyme?



Mad Hatter: When that day comes I shall futterwacken... vigorously. 


Mad Hatter: What is the hatter with me? 




Mad Hatter: Would you like a little more tea?
Alice Kingsley: Well, I haven't had any yet, so I can't very well take more.
March Hare: Ah, you mean you can't very well take less.
Mad Hatter: Yes. You can always take more than nothing.


Mad Hatter: Do you know why they call me Hatter?
Alice Kingsley: Because you wear a hat?
Mad Hatter: No. Because I'm always there when they pass the hat, so to speak.



Mad Hatter:
Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe. 


Alice Kingsley: I have a little money, but I understand you don't use that here.
Mad Hatter:
Pieces of paper! [whispers] Pointless. 





C'mon, admit it...we're all a little mad. I know I am.




Quotes borrowed from here

Pictures I used as references: 1, 2, 3.



Alright guys, I hope you all enjoyed this original content! If you did, please feel free to upvote and follow! And as always, if you have questions or advice for me, please leave them in the comments.

Make sure to watch for today's Holi-art!





Sort:  

Really cool concept and finished art work and really great in depth post on it, including so many pictures. Thanks for sharing this.

Thank you so much for your support @cryplectibles! I truly appreciate it.

Amazing post. How do you do it EVERY TIME?! Steem ON!

Thanks for your support @gringalicious!

Haha... I'll admit it -- Im definitely, a little bonkers! Cheers @rigaronib

Me too, Mack. Me too. Haha

Very good stuff, and nice post layout to boot!

Thank you very much @getonthetrain! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63