Daily Holi-Art # 35: U.S. Navy Black catssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Hey Steemians! It's daily Holi-Art time!

 

The idea of my daily Holi-Art is to create a piece of art that has a theme based on that day's less popular or even funny national or international holiday. Today is October 27th and according to the website www.daysoftheyear.com, it is Navy Day, Black Cat Day and Cranky Co-worker's Day. So today I will post an original piece of artwork that corresponds with one or more of these particular 'holidays'.   

Today I created an all pencil drawing, which is something that I rarely do. It is hard to shade with one color, plus it can get pretty dang messy - But it is practice, and I need every bit of practice possible! haha Kudos to all of the incredible artists out there who have mastered the art of full pencil drawings!

 

This is today's rendering:

U.S. Navy Black Catsa

 

This is a PBY-5 catalina from the Black Cat Squadron used by the U.S. Navy in WWII. 

 

 

 

 

 

Progression Photos:

 

 

 

 

 This image was used as reference.

 

 

 

 

 

Alright guys, I hope you all enjoyed this original content! If you did, please feel free to upvote and follow! And as always, if you have questions or advice for me, please leave them in the comments.

 

Make sure to watch for tomorrow's Holi-art!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sort:  

Good drawing.
I find working in pencil challenging too, I never seem to know when to stop.
I like that you included the link to the pic you used as reference.

Thanks @stitchin-sista! I appreciate your support. :)
I have that same problem. I shade too much, then the drawing ends up almost pitch black. Haha

I've tried saying things like " It's a shadow in the dark"
Never seems to work though.

Nice Black Cat
I guess you have seen my Wildcat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28