Guanyin Depicting Mercy

in #art7 years ago

Guanyin Pagoda is one of the more recent attractions built at Boalin Temple in Changzhou's Wujin district. It has four floors, and it encases a huge statue. I had posted photos of that statue months ago on Steemit. Recently, I paid a return visit and decided to look at some of the exterior art. 

At the base of the tower, there are a series of paintings in the arches. Each of these depicts Guanyin riding a cloud and dispensing mercy to those in trouble. Here is a sampling. These are not all the paintings here -- but this should give somebody a good idea of who this person is in Buddhism and what their function is. Some have called her a figure like the Virgin Mary -- somebody to pray to when you  feel troubled. 


Sort:  

Very nice. I showed my wife this too. She also like it.

thanks. I should do another post about the inside. the statue is simply amazing

You're welcome. If they allow, then will be good. Many of the ones I go have signs of no photography on many parts of the inside.

What I noticed is this: if you take cell phone pictures they don't care. If you take a professional camera, they care. My answer? Get a cell phone that has a camera on steroids. Seriously, a magazine mistakes my cell phone pics for a professional camera because the file size and resolution is so high.

Yes, I should try that. Thanks, for sharing the tip

i want a piece of that wall

the pagoda is just fantastic thanks for the photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09