Collecting Chinese Stamps: Xuan Zang

in #art6 years ago

Xuan Zang 玄奘 is a legendary figure in Chinese culture who traveled to India to retrieve Buddhist scripture and bring it to China. This figure is so intertwined into Chinese myth, it even intersects with the Monkey King in the epic Journey to the West. So, this is an figure often celebrated in art and by other means. However, because I have been shopping for gifts for my father -- a hardcore stamp collector -- I have noticed slight differences in how some stamps are sold in micro-sets. The above, for example -- is the cover design for a mini-stamp collection.


It takes the form of a three-fold brochure. The text in the middle, as well as the limited nature of these commemorative “sets" makes it collectible as a whole. So, a collector would likely want to leave these stamps in the brocure -- rather than pulling them out and putting them into a separate album.  So, this particular commemorative addistion comes with two sheets.


All in all, colorful and interesting to look at. Stamp collecting, much like collecting comic books, can be seen as an investment. Stamps are always at least worth face value, and their value only increases as time moves on and scarcity becomes a thing. This whole Xuan Zang mini set cost me 20 RMB at China Post in Changzhou. That's roughly somewhere between three and four dollars. So, I get the feeling that I am getting by the collector's bug and will start looking more into collecting stamps while I am living in Asia.  

Sort:  

I heard the Chinese New Year zodiac stamps are the ones that are quite eagerly sought after.

I actually didn't know that. My father is the stamp collector in the family, and he knows nothing of the stamp culture here. It started collecting on his behalf, and now I want to start my own collection ... so, I will look into that! I am going to start posting some of the other mini-sets I got recently, too. Just so you know, I have largely been off steemit for a long time more because I was bogged down in writing a book about living in China. Still am! =)

Don't take my word for it. I just heard from someone. :-)
All the best with your book.

you're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65