GODZILLAS

in #art6 years ago (edited)

GODZILLAS. Arthur Robins. 1984. Oils on Canvas.In the mid 1980’s , I met a woman from Japan. She was highly educated and from the highest class of Japan. I asked her many questions about the Japanese culture and she answered each one in an unexpected way. I asked her, ‘’Why did Japan make the Godzilla movies?’’ I never understood what was behind them, but knew there had to be something. She answered, ‘’To explain to the Japanese people-What is Gum’’ …”Gum?” I asked. She made a wide gesture , as if to say , ‘’America is Gum’’ ..See- Japanese had never seen Gum before America came and conquered her. In the first Godzilla movie, Godzilla brought total devastation to Japan, destroying everything in sight. In the next movie, Godzilla and Japan were friends. Godzilla became Japan’s protector. That was America during and after World War 2. But America introduced Gum, as something to chew and as Plastic, two things Japan had never seen. America was Gum. Godzilla was America. SEE MORE ART @ https://www.RevelationFineArt.com
GODZILLAS.jpg

Sort:  

wicked cool my dude

That is a very interesting story.... and really great painting. Upvoted. They should have called it Gum-Zilla

the name I think has some meaning in Japanese.......

you were featured in today's @artzone

where? I cant find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51