Taking Risks as an Artist - (And Hello from a New Minnow!)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

renee guitar new vaudeville.jpg

I'm finally here on Steemit! I want to say a big hello to everyone reading! I've heard amazing things about this community, so I want to thank my good friend, @amandarichards, for persuading me to join. My goal is to provide a space here to share my experiences being an actor and musician and honestly just a human being living in Portland, Oregon who seeks to find meaning in everything I do.

I should say that this is not the only "first" for me this week, so I thought I'd share something life-shifting I did just a couple days ago. For me, I believe this sparked a trend of "first steps" for me that I've been waiting to take, and I hope to use this newfound fire to keep moving towards my goals:

On Monday night, I participated in an annual event we have in my acting class called “Fright Night.” On this night, everyone in class does something vulnerable or scary for the purpose of personal growth. It doesn’t have to be acting, and most of the time, it isn’t.

So, for my turn, I arpeggiated an ominous chord progression on my guitar while listing all of the (both silly and valid) reasons I chose to do this particular thing, like so:

Because I’m not ready
Because I’ve never allowed myself to try it
Because it’s significant to my identity
Because I feel stupid for giving this decision so much weight
Because I feel like these reasons will not be understood
Because I’m incredibly curious about it
Because somehow, I think this is right for me
Because gender norms are stupid and dangerous
Because I’m not the first person to do this
Because my role models would do this
Because I am a role model to myself and others

...and so on.

Then, I quietly set down my guitar, sat down in front of a mirror, put my hair into a ponytail and pulled out a pair of shears.

...And I cut the whole ponytail off.

ponytail.jpg

I have to say, the result was actually pretty acceptable, but I knew that this step was symbolic, and that I’d wanted to get it professionally done.

half cut.jpg

So yesterday, I had planned ahead for the actual full haircut. I have never had my hair shorter than chin-length, but for several years, despite trying to grow it out forever, I’ve been both nervous and incredibly curious about how it would look on me.

In this moment, I have surpassed the anxiety and surreal dreams about salons full of people with short hair that I’ve had for the last week leading up to this moment, and now I hate to admit that it feels like this was no big deal at all.

—Which is totally the point. I hope that when I need to take bigger risks, I can remember this night and the giggles that welled up inside of me as my hair got shorter and shorter.

So, there it is. How do you like my new look? I call it, “Facing my fears.”

Full cut.jpg

Thank you for reading, and since this is my first post, I'd love if you would give me a follow and introduce yourself in the comments. Any other musicians out there? Actors, inventors, creative thinkers, architects, etc?

And I encourage you to share something that is fueling you towards your goals right now, if you feel compelled! The more we all do this, the more we encourage others to do so.

Woohoo, I did it! Until next time... - Renée

Sort:  

Welcome ;) There are definitely more musicians out there - check out @dsound to find some of them!
Resteeming you for some publicity!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

You rock, thank you!

Oh Em Gee! That is brave!

I'm still thinking of words....can't find any.

So glad you are on this platform to share your talents and experiences. I'm sure you'll have a great time.

Btw...I don't know if you're [email protected] does some.interesting voice acting skits...and is looking for voice talents. Perhaps you could check it out and see if it's something you might be interested in.

All the best.

Cheers

Hi there, @kchitrah! Thanks so much for reading and the support! :D I will definitely check out @carrieallen.

hi @reneemuzquiz ! Welcome to Steemit ! :)

Congratulations Renee! So glad to finally see you on here. I will retsteem and wish you good luck!

Thanks so much, Amanda! Looking forward to digging in here. :D

Well done on your introduction post and welcome from a newbie. I'm Chris from the 51st State of the USA.

The ominous chord progression sounded ominous, looking forward to reading some of your posts.

TTFN

Chris

Thanks so much, Chris! Nice to meet you. I'll be posting some video content of my playing soon enough.

Read my last blog post if you want up to 100 free Upvotes. @a-0-0

Fright Night seems great. I play guitar, sing, film, draw, write. You are creative, lovely. I'm Oatmeal. Nice to meet you.

It's pretty awesome. Others in the class share personal stories about themselves, or get to certain degrees of naked, etc. Some people try stand-up comedy. That's what I did last year. Nice to meet you, too, Oatmeal!

Very exciting. Love personal stories.

@reneemuzquiz, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Will you give me a follow? I'll follow you back in return!

Welcome Renee! Do post some of your music...

Thank you! Coming up very soon.

@reneemuzquiz welcome to steemit join this project for minnow by joining discord channel https://discord.gg/2zDP3Gr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46