🎨 "The Moth"... a surrealistic approach to nightlife

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Legs, high heels, roses and... is all that exciting for a moth? We often see them attracted by artificial light, but what else might be going on in this cyborg being? This is my painted suggestion, pencil and oil on glass, as usual with a hand made frame.

nafa-0.jpg

Of course one can close the doors, when one gets tired of looking at the painting ;-)


I usually start with a sketch on paper:

nafa-01.JPG


then I draw the image on glass in all detail with graphite pencil:

nafa-02.jpg

then I add thin glazes of color:

nafa-02a.jpg


While they take some time to dry, I work on the frame:

nafa-03.jpg

nafa-04.JPG

nafa-05.JPG

nafa-06.JPG


Once painting and frame are finished, its time to put both together:

nafa-07.JPG



And this is how it looks finished:

nafa-08.jpg




pfeil-1-200x88.jpg


View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!

Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by #ReinhardSchmid of my own artwork done in my special technique as introduced in What is Hinterglas?

sig_2013-1-Klein.jpg

Sort:  

Wow Reinhard - bin wieder mal überwältigt! Der Rahmen ist wunderbar. Was kostet das Holz in der Herstellung und wie lange brauchst du denn dafür ungefähr, wenn ich fragen darf?!

Danke, freut mich! Das Holz ist Pflaume... gut abgelagert, hatte ich von einem alten Bettgestell. An dem Rahmen hab ich glaub ich ca. 4 Tage gearbeitet, wenn ich mich recht erinnere.

Simple, yet great work on the frame! I love carpentry, In fact, it was my first work.
Salute!

I should thank you!

HA! Who needs a flame, when you've got LEGS?! ;)

I quite like this little cyborg, but I'm actually really creeped out by moths... no idea why, with all the strange things I like. lol

Hahaha... my words exactly ;-)

Yes these furry little moths can be quite creepy... but since they don't bite, I don't mind them like other insects..

You are not just an amazing artist, you are also a very skilled handyman with all that wood, brass, copper, and god knows what else materials for your frames. Very nice, very nice.

Thanks a lot... how about one made from glass? (very very long time ago)

DSC_0671-1518x1920-50%.jpg

You continue to surprise me :) I wonder what's next? :)

As I can see, you already checked 🙂 Thank you for your continued interest!

That's what I was thinking too! His art is ever amazing, but then he has this whole other set of skills with the custom frame making in a variety of materials.

A cordial thank you! I just like to play with my tools 😉

This surreal love allegory is very subtle and absolutely technically impeccable! :)

Thank you so very much. As the skilled artist you are, I appreciate, when you see this quality in a colleagues work!

You are quite a multi-skilled craftsman Reinhard.

A big thank you, Leo! Actually, compared to drawing and painting, I often find these much easier things to do quite relaxing!

Btw... did I mention, that I welcome it, if you want to add some of your fine art to your comments here?

Actually I have to get busy with producing new artwork to post.

BTW, are you coming to Vienna? Kathrina and I have our exhibition on Friday the 6th of October. =)

Arrggh... just agreed to go to Magical Dreams in WrNeustadt Nov 7... unfortunately I don't think I can make two trips within this time frame. Maybe we can meet anyways?

That's a real pity, we were both looking forward to seeing you at our exhibition opening.

Brilliant. It's complex and interesting. Meticulously assembled. Another project worth some respect!

Thank you. Its a little bit like your work, when you use different materials, like in this extraordinary piece: http://bit.ly/2foS8d2 (didn't want to "steal" your photo)

You're work is amazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82