You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Icarus in Training - new painting

in #art7 years ago

Yes, the color aspect alone is such a big thing to master. Working on glass helped me quite a bit with transparent pigments, which I really love... to the point, that I almost neglect the other ones, which do have their place in the painting.

You mentioned the palette in another post, and I was kinda curious, what your preferences are... although I respect every artist who's not ready to share such things... being a bit secretive about my stuff too ;-)

Absolutely agree, with what you say about the human form, but... not sure if I'm making sense... you bent it in a form that would make one instantly think of the posture of a bird (and I'm not only talking of the arms) that the theme of "flight" is imminent

Sort:  

I see no harm mentioning the tubes of paint I use, but which on which point on the canvas, I won't say. How and what I mix, an artist has to work out for themselves otherwise they are learning nothing. It is what I have to do when I examine artworks of others, or translate a reference into the painting.

I work mostly with earth tones these days. Discovering Apelles Palette as the fundamental starting point of all of the Master Painters set me in this direction. The key is a limited palette with mostly dirty colours.

Cadmium Yellow, Raw Sienna, Burnt Sienna, Kasseler Brown, Van Dykes Brown, Paynes Grey, Ultramarine, Prussian Blue, Titanium White.

I may vary this selection slightly for each painting.

With the figure, I did modify it slightly to invoke the impression of flight and take off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55