Open up!

in #art7 years ago

Most of my artwork is on glass. Actually on the reverse side, so called "hinterglas". To make it even more extravagant, I work with graphite pencil directly on the glass and add layers of other media.

Some people say, I'm working "backwards", which is true in a way. Once my painting is finished on one side of the glass, I turn it around and the viewer sees the painting through the glass. Whatever I put down first on the other side, is closest to him. Exactly the opposite of traditional painting.

For my glass originals I build hand made frames.

Sometimes I play with moving parts like doors. These doors, although fully functional do not always have the real purpose you'd expect and are then merely for "decoration" or to play with.

Reminds me of evolution, when you see i. e. an insect who's ancestor a few million years ago was able to fly... over time this bug might have found a different niche and the ability to fly became less important. The wings became rudimentary and although without a real use, they are still there...

When I sent more of my glass paintings to exhibitions, I was concerned about the glass being safe. I made the frames with real doors, to protect the painting. Over time, this aspect became less important. But every now and again there might still be some "doors" again... with a different purpose :-)

DSC_5776_send-2-hd.jpg

Sort:  

Exquisite!

marvellous piece of work.. :) following u

Thank you very much, I appreciate your attention :-)

Nice work, beautiful detail. I like the quirky "doors".
It has given me an idea for presents....and for myself. 😀 I must try to paint something on glass myself.
I love Steemit, so many steemians with diverse talents. It has given me so much inspiration to push myself further. Resteemed.

Thank you so much for your kind comment. Glad my work inspires you to try something like this yourself.

I'm really new here, so I'm still trying to figure things out, but I will post some work in progress and "how I did this" in the future.

docu5.jpg

Almost forgot: A kind thank you for the upvote of my post :-)

I look forward to the "how I did it" posts. I Resteemed as I feel it deserved more exposure.

A big thank you for the extra exposure, as a newbie I really appreciate every helping hand :-)

A truly creative approach. Thanks for the great description of your process and the video.

Thank you for your kind comment. I'm planing to show more like this soon.

Good to see you getting busy on Steemit. =)
Upvoted.

Big thanks, Leo. Been a steem enthusiast all my life, so this site is for me :-)

May I bother you with yet another question?

Fire away.

Probably quite silly... for nsfw posts one is supposed to mark then, so nobody is at risk of a heart attack. Is it enough to just put it down as the first tag, or is there something else to be considered?

Absolutely stunning, detailed workmanship. I love your work both painting and writing, it is carefully crafted and detailed. It is inspirational.
Upvoted!
Followed!
Resteemed!

Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words. Thank you also for noticing that I try my very best. I do it out of respect for those who grant me their valuable time and their kind attention.. they should not have to put up with anything done sloppy and without care :-)

Thank you for the value you add to this platform:)

Nice to meet you here with your excellent works

Thanks for finding me here and glad to see you with your fine art too :-) following of course :-)

Have a look at my newest post https://steemit.com/art/@reinhard-schmid/what-is-hinterglas if you like to see how I do it!

Thanks Reinhard - of course have already upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65