Doodle Contest Week 1 | Flowers & Plants - My Entry

in #art6 years ago

This post is a meaningful one for me because it marks the first time that I am sketching and painting again after more than 15 years. I never attended formal art classes when I was young, except for a brief moment when I was 5 years old. Back then, the kindergarten that I enrolled in had weekly art class every Saturday.

I continued to draw/sketch/colour/paint throughout my primary school years up to lower secondary 3, but they were more of completing my art subject homework. Having said this, I remember enjoying completing my assignments and I still have a couple of my art books with me to this date. When it was time to enter upper secondary, I did not choose art as one of my elective subjects and that spells the end of my drawing/sketching/colouring/painting days.

When I read that @coloringiship is organising a doodling contest, I was thrilled! She's one of the first people whom I followed after joining Steemit and her artwork has been nothing short of inspiring, they actually spur me to pick up art again. Never mind that I have never doodled in my life, I will just give it my best shot!

My Entry

1.JPG

The theme for this week is Flowers & Plants and I have chosen to doodle the humble tomato. Apart from celebrating my dabbling in art again, it is also to commemorate my handle, @redtomato.

The Process

To get started, I used this photo as a guide.


Source

I did my sketch on an A4-sized watercolour paper because I decided to paint with watercolour. How does it feel to sketch again? Well, my hand was shaking in the beginning. It took me quite a while to finish sketching. And I forgot to snap a photo, showing only the sketch. It was after I painted the leaves that I remembered.

2_rt.jpeg

Painting was a little challenging initially because I tried very hard not to paint outside the lines. After a while, I got the hang of it and it was done!

3(a)_rt.jpeg

Since I am not a seasoned doodler, I tried doing it on a piece of paper. I know that I will only doodle the leaves and tomatoes, so I need to decide beforehand what lines and patterns to use. This also gives me a rough idea, what my piece will look like once completed.

Turns out that I didn’t like the first sketch because everything looks too dense; my tomatoes no longer look like they’re tomatoes, they’ve become Christmas baubles.

So, I proceeded to do a second sketch and this time, I am happy!

4_rt.jpeg

I used a black marker to outline the leaves and tomatoes and a 0.5-nibbed black liner to outline the flowers and stems.

5_rt.jpeg

For doodling lines and patterns inside the leaves and tomatoes, I used 0.4 and 0.2-nibbed black liners.

6_rt.jpeg

7_rt.jpeg

And ta da, my completed piece, ready for submission!

8_rt.jpeg

Although my doodle patterns are not intricate and perfectly uniformed as I have hoped, it’s been an enjoyable process. To top it all off, I get to experience again the satisfaction from creating art, no matter how long it takes. The tutorial by @coloringiship is indeed helpful, I follow it to a ‘T’. 😄

Thank you @coloringiship for organising this contest and being such an inspiration! As seen in the last photo, I got myself a folder too. 😊 I look forward to storing more of my masterpieces in future.

Sort:  

I love this. So cute and happy!

Thank you @orangina, you're so encouraging!

You did a great job on those tomatoes! 😉

Thank you @arrliinn for dropping by, am glad you think so. 😊

wow...nice art work
Hope you are the lucky winner!!

Many thanks @tracyt. Other entries are equally good too, you should check them out.

Wow, bagus 👍👍👍👍

This is awesome !

@thekitchenfairy Ribuan terima kasih!

It's been a very long time since I last did art, I am happy that you find it awesome posum! 😁

This is wonderful @redtomato. I am very glad that I have inspired you to pick up art again. Thank you for supporting my humble contest :)

Pleasure is all mine @coloringiship 😊

Nice entry @redtomato, I love how you painted it with watercoulor... :)

Thank you @tonie 😊

Very cool, I love the idea of the tomato vine :) I also entered the contest :D Good luck to you!

Thank you @bpinkie for your kind words, best of luck to you as well. 😄

Congratulations @redtomato! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97