Donkey's Day Off. Painting On The Beach.

in #art7 years ago

It looked to be a pretty sunny day down in Porthcawl, South Wales. I decided to take part in an outdoor painting challenge where I only had a day to complete a painting inspired by what I found on the beach. I named this painting Donkey's day off. All the kids had came down to ride on the group of donkeys, they all looked tired and snoozy. The seagulls had alot of energy swooping down from great heights to steal chips I wanted a visual play and to finally give those donkey's a day off. So I painted the child riding the seagull instead. I have always like creating surreal narratives and although I could have chosen to simply paint the landscape I wanted to have a bit of fun with the challenge and veer away from the norm. There were 82 other artists all painting in Porthcawl, on the pier, along the sea wall, in cafes each painting from their seaside inspiration.
DSCF9273.JPG


The journey on the bus only took an hour but we started off early. I brought Gemma with me as I had quite a bit to carry with me.

I had bought a travel set of paints just for this occasion. A new set of paints in prep for a blank canvas is always exciting.

Setting up the outdoor studio early in the morning, I already look pretty windswept from the sea winds.

I took a quick snap of these clouds ready for the painting.

I think planned out a sketch so that I could plan where the donky and the baby ridinga seasgull would go on the canvas and to see if the idea would actually work.

The first patch of colour on the painting, lets go!

I painted the first layer of the cloudsand then started to paint the sandy beach. I used a piece of masking tape to keep the horizon straight.

One by one the seagulls steal my sanity.

I created a few abstract shapes for the waves breaking in on the beach and I added a little purple to the water to contrast the yellow of the sand.

More seagulls swooping over, they could smell my lunch time chips.

Next I went over the clouds to give them a fluffier texture and i gegan filling in the seagul and donkey areas.I added patches of colour till it built up toa 3d image. I worked thick over thin which made it easier to spread the paint.

The sun got pretty hot around mid day and unfortunately I got a little burnt, but there was no giving up now I had to finish what I had started.


The group of donkey's did their rounds along the beach and this enabled to me to gain a closer look so I could complete the donkey portrait.

The completed donkey portrait (detail).

Baby riding a seagull (detail). I wish I had more time for this section of I am honest. I took this picture with only 30 mintes to go. It was time to hand in my painting and hope for the best.

I was full of beans when I gave in my painting. I had never taken part in a painting competition and I did not really expect to win anything. I was just happy I had been able to complete the painting in the nick of time. A week later however I found out I had won the people's choice award. People had voted online. I was not first or second but to have the support of people who voted was amazing and urged me on to try out for other competitions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69