Woodland Jumping Mouse ~ Red Dust Art (WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Napaeozapus insignis

I still haven't to finish the highlights on the dewdrops and moss. I have no clue how long this will take. There is a lot of layering involved. I really like this type of detail, it reminds me of meditation, in fact it feels like meditation. Incredibly boring at times but when you finish you feel so good!

The Woodland Mouse is found all over North America. The Latin name means wooded dell and big strong feet. The mouse can jump 9ft using it's feet and long tail. This is a medium sized mouse, not a rat, Length (nose to tail tip) 205–256 mm (8.1–10.1 in), the tail, 115–160 mm (4.5–6.3 in). They are a favorite snack food for foxes, owls, hawks, and other small predictors. The mouse also loves homes, I would regularly catch mice in my big 5 gallon grain buckets that would have a few grains left from feeding the livestock. The mouse would jump into the bucket but couldn't jump out. So I guess they can't jump 9ft straight up!

I didn't want to kill the mice that were trapped in my grain buckets. I released them on the other side of our creek at the back end of our Oregon hobby farm. The next day I found two more mice. I did the same thing, released the two on the other side of our creek. The next day two more mice were trapped in my grain bucket. This time I guessed these two mighty mice had swam the creek. So I got a permanent marker and marked the naked part of the two little mouses ears and released them for the third time on the other side of our creek. The next morning the two mice were back and both had green marker stains on their ear. I put lids on our grain buckets and no more mice!

14 x 11, watercolor, and gouache, 190lb cotton watercolor paper

This is our creek and Mina our dog at the back end of our little 2 acre Oregon hobby farm. I can't believe the mice could swim across and run through an acre of lawn and woodland to get back to our grain buckets stored in the mudroom.

Art Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Maybe the rat is a friend so he goes back to your house

Interesting @sulaimankumbang, I'm glad I didn't kill them!

That's why he came home to you

I think they were just habituated mice...lololol...free food!

hahaha the mouse looks beautiful i like how it looks so real red.

You saw the beauty! Most people just feel afraid or disgusted when they look at some parts of nature we consider pests. I am impressed <3

Jajajajaja i like them but insects ummmmm no. Regards dear red :)

You are a great artist.

You are most welcome,,,,reddust.

What a cute, expressive mouse! And such detailed, soft and warm fur! It is amazing how persistent your two hungry mice were. That grain must have been a lot better than their alternatives. It sounds like a story in a kid's book, lol! Only that would have a happy ending where they get to stay in a big house full of grain! ; )

@haphazard-hstead, I was kind of freaked out, like these were magical mice. You have seen how big our creek is...how could such little things ford that stream? Good idea about the book, sounds like a winter project!

I don't know if it would be the best things for the mice to have a never ending stream of grain, they would get obese and die of cardiac arrest .... or be so fat they couldn't run from the owls, hawks, foxes, coyotes and neighborhood cats looking for a treat.

You are onto the book plot already, I see. Nobody wants to see the mice getting obese. Maybe they end up having access to all that grain, but then they go swimming every day, just to stay fit, lol. I'm sure you will come up with a great story that fits your mice really well! That's an amazingly big creek for such little mice!

awesome place in photos @reddust :) you marked mices and release it like birds ? lol i can stop lought Red... :)
@reddust if you sometimes boring of your works, make something harder for me it working :)

Yeah I tried to release the mice just like you would a bird, except the mice kept coming back! I really think they were magical mice testing my compassion .... lololol...

Those naughty little mouses :P

I don't know if they were naughty or just plain stupid! I had the hardest time writing about two mice, one mouse and the mouses lolololol....I think my horrible grammar and spelling issues are tied to my total lack of direction, my husband always says the other right when giving me directions.

Great post we know you are a great artist we support you for ever @reddust

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @allabout.

That is amazing!!............

Great Art and nice drawing 💕

Thank you @nomishiekh! I had to stop for today after painting through the morning, it is time to start cooking dinner. Hope your day has been productive!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51