Water Horse ~ Art By Red Dust

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My Third Study of Water

I've been drawing horses since I was a child. My Mom was one of those crazy horse ladies and I grew up with horses. We had a breeding and showing horse ranch out in the State of Oregon near Mt Hood. The water was my main study subject in 2014. I've been afraid to draw and paint water most of my life, so I figured I would get over that fear!

I've been drawing horses since I was 5 years old. Horses were my childhood compainions and friends. Living out in the country I didn't have many human playmates, most of my friends were animals. Back in the 1960s-70s there was no digital media like computers, iPads, and smart phones. We had a TV but could only get 3 channels, there was no such thing as cable and hundreds of channels. Our entertainment was what ever kids could figure out on their own. I think they call our childhood free play, it was an awesome way to grow up!

15 x 11, 300lb hotpress paper, watercolor and watercolor pencil.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

That is a lovely watercolor piece. I love the story of entertaining yourselves as you grew up - that sounds like my homeschool family.

If we didn't entertain ourselves as kids, no one would! Mom kicked my sister and I out of the house after breakfast. We had a lot of acreage, creeks, forest, farm animals to play with. I loved the freedom, my sister, chatty-Cathy, 2 1/2 years younger than I not so much...extroverts need others and introverts like me are happy being alone. Playing in the woods, being quiet was important. I ditched my sister as fast as I could, she never shut up! My oldest granddaughter is just like her lololol

Lol. Chatty-Cathy, that is hilarious. I am amused that you still cannot get away from her since you have a granddaughter just like her. 😄

There is nothing quite like a lot of acreage for the imagination of a child.

The chatty gene runs strong in our family. Look up se porter rd Estacada Oregon, that's were I grew up....growing up wild is making a comeback with home schooling, I have a lot of friends who homeschool.

That looks like wide open spaces on google maps. I love it! Yes, my family has a dairy farm background so we enjoy the freedom to do as we wish as well.

Excellent work dear friend @reddust very beautiful thank you very much for sharing

Thank you dear @jlufer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75