The Winds Of Change (WIP)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Working On The Background

I wasn't happy with the background and I still have a lot of work to do on the leaves and the dragonflies. If I push myself too hard to figure out a way to make the painting work I end up with thoughts circling around my head and go nowhere.

I've learned from my vipassana mediation practice, insight does not come from straining to get it, you have to relax in the right way to find the flow and see an insight.

I use the sensation of breath to relax the mind/body and watch my thoughts without falling into them. Watching thoughts is like watching the flow of a stream. You lean over too close you may fall into the water! Balance and relaxing just right is key.

I saw in my minds eye water and reflections and the idea came to me that if I used reflective paint that is translucent I can get the effect of changing while the light shifts across the painting or the viewer changes positions. In shadow translucent paint disappears. When light hits the reflecting elements in the paint a pearl like glow gives the pattern life. That is what I was looking for!

Here Is Yesterday's Work and My Idea Given Life

You can see from the bottom picture the light is reflecting off the paint has dimmed and if I shift my camera to a different angle you can see the patterns of spirals very clearly. I will be working on finishing this painting up today.

14 x 17, watercolor, gouache, pen, and ink, acrylic Pearlescent paint, 190lb cotton watercolor paper

Vipassana Meditation

Butterfly Art

Photography Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Hi red why you are posting early on the morning hehe? red what is vipassana mediation practice?

vipassana means to see reality as it is not as your conditioning wishes....part of this meditation is learning to see thoughts and body feelings as sensation and not self.

https://www.dhamma.org/en-US/about/vipassana

You know many useful things red. Thanks

I am old, we human's tend to gather information as we age and share it with the young ones of our tribe. That is the power behind the elderly :P

jajajaja it's funny how simple you say i'm old. Red good know people as you

You know I am a rebel. Soceity worships youth and sticks old people away in dusty corners...I say fuck that! I am happy just as I am and no advertising agency is going to sell me plastic surgery or clothes that make me look younger or in "this years" style...you know the cougar style, old women looking for a boy-toy...I am looking for equanimity, upekkha!

I don't watch TV anymore because of this crap!

@reddust,
Without proper patient you can't even do this background works! It might be a kind of meditation! Wow this is wonderful, I mean a great artwork! Hope to see the final outcome soon!

Cheers~

I got so excited, I painted all yesterday and ignored everyone! Thank you @theguruasia!

picture who is a friend

Yes, friends don't give up on their friends...hahaha <3

yes yes.
ha ha
I like

Many things to contemplate, leaves, dragonflies, and circles made by rain drops. Alone ok, but together art.

They dance on the wind, just like we dance on our breath...hahaha Thank you @manorvillemike.

spirals are looking more awesome in second pic :) :)

real impressive art, I like it, keep it up.
Your art deserves a resteem

Congratulations @reddust! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

it looks good enough and waiting for your final touch!

amigo #resteemia at your service


impressive artwork & you are doing it perfectly. nice work @reddust

ReSteemia
'UpVoted ReSteemed Commented'

Very good publications.
Look at my post Thank you
https://steemit.com/cn/@urtq1996/my-drawing-of-kaede

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49