The Forgotten Garden

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Sleeping

I painted this way back in 1994 and had a hard time with perspective, which I still struggle with. However, I've improved a lot when I compare my first paintings with the work I'm producing today. There are all kinds of tales regarding secret gardens. This garden represents the qualities I hid when I was a child being abused by my stepfather. I tucked the more tender aspects of myself away in a safe place. Sadly I forgot where I hid my treasures for a long time, my youngest daughter helped me remember. Through meditation I opened the garden gate, waking her up so she could leave and be free.

The tree represents the mind, the flowers are only here for a moment, the path is old habits, the garden is a place that needs to be cultivated and cared for or it will become full of weeds. The gate represents the veil of conditioning that keeps things from getting in or out, it can protect or become a prison.

I forgot what kind of paper I used, acrylic and water color, 28 x 21 inches.

img_0299-e1493128506372.jpg

Puck The Black Cat

I found Puck out in the middle of our front pasture as a kitten. He grew into a tough tom cat, expert at avoiding being eatened by great horned owls and mousing. Every farm needs a barn cat to keep the rat and mouse population down. He also would watch over my youngest daughter Amber when she was sleeping.

lorem-ipsumccd2a.jpg

Sleeping Child

Amber my youngest is the main subject in this painting representing insight that is still sleeping.

lorem28bc4.png

Water

The images reflected in water are like images we see through our conditioning. I learned through meditation I was mistaking the reflection of sensory imput, that is data from my sense organs translated by my brain into images, sounds, smells, feelings, thoughts, into conditioned reaction as the true object. It's really hard to notice bare data from our sense organs without an instant conditioned reaction.

lorem-ipsumccd2a.jpg

Hidden Animals

Hidden objects like the deer and fox are aspects of my inner world that are hard to see, especially if I try and catch them. I have to be patient and let them come to me.

lorem28bc4.png

Chipmunk

As I was taking pictures on subjects I noticed there was a chipmunk sitting on the fence. I forgot I'd painted this subject, I hid the character really well!

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Excellent post!! thank you for sharing
My friend great work! :)

Thank you friend @mars9

Great work!

Such nice details and a very beautiful painting :-)

Thank you @lichblick, This is how I see the world, incredible details just like this painting.

Stunning paintings. I'm pleased you can find expression therapeutic value in your artwork. I find my television and film scriptwriting can also be very therapeutic.


Hi @reddust, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you @shadowspub and thank you for serving the Legion. My daughter belongs to Tulsa Legion #1, she served in Korea.

Tulsa Legion? That would be the American Legion? There are RCL branches in the US.

Yes! Very nice people too🌸

Beautiful work dear friend @reddust congratulations I really liked the interpretation of the work, thank you very much for sharing these experiences

Thank you dear @jlufer, I've updated my HTML formatting code too ...hahaha

So beautiful. I love all the detail. Will upvote and resteem 🙂

Thank you for supporting my art @fluer🌸

more than perfect +++!!

You are so sweet, thank you for supporting my art @prakashghai

Absolutely a beautiful piece and a touching story @reddust. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Thank you @rebeccaryan , it's been tough trying to piece my childhood memories together. Painting has really helped me remember my childhood in a good way.

I am a firm believer in the fact that our brains will only let us remember what we can handle at anyone time. I am so happy for you that you survived and that you have a family of your own today.
I really loved your Secret Garden painting and thought it was well done. :)

Some of us survivors don't remember the abuse, while others can't forget. I was the group that could not forget, flooding memories and emotions could be triggered by sounds, smells, and oddly kindness. Thankfully my retreat work helped me let go so I can remember without being overwhelmed by emotions. Now I'm learning how to tell my story. Thank yo very much for supporting me🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49