The Eight Auspicious Signs ~ Twin Fish

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Ashtamangala

My wish is that we all can swim freely through the sea of Samsara without the burden of ignorance, hatred, and greed.

Gaurmatsya

9 x 6 inches, mixed media paper, watercolor, gouache, pen and ink

I had a fun time working on this mixed media set. I first laid out a light outline in pencil. I used pen and ink to outline the drawing. Using watercolor and gouache I slowly built up color, using white as a highlight to add depth.

The two fish have symbolic meaning through many ancient cultures. Within the Oriental culture the two fish are represented by the carp, which symbolizes happiness and freedom of movement. In India the two fish represented the Ganges and Yamuna rivers. The fish are also associated with the human bodies two main energy channels, the lunar and solar, and the breath, prana. The Hindu religions, the Jains, the Buddhist, as well as the Christian traditions associated the fish with abundance, freedom, and fertility.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Lord vishnus first avatar(incarnation) was a fish..which makes it very significant in the hindu religion..

Yes, I know of Lord Vishnu he preserves the universe if I remember correctly.

yes he is the caretaker of humans and universe...Brahma is the creator and shiva is the destroyer

That would make a really cool tattoo! I really like those waves and the color choices. Blue is complimentary on the color wheel to Orange, one of my favorite combos. The white highlights really add depth and help! Good job!

This a very popular tattoo, you should fashion one!

Oh, this is so beautiful.. the balance between the two.
I wish all people happiness and freedom from burden of ignorance, hatred, and greed.

Freedom starts within our own heart, thank you and I hope your wish comes true.

The circle is similar to the rainbow, nice

In Tibetan symbolism the rainbow is a sign of enlightenment. The manifestation of rainbows at the death of a person is called, "rainbow body."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rainbow_body

Thank you for the info.
now, so know the meaning of the rainbow for the Tibetans.

In America there is a movement from people who are attracted to the same sex, they use the rainbow as their symbol. They are very attached to gender and their body as their main identity, which is totally the opposite symbolism in Tibetan Buddhism, with practice one lets go of all attachments. Hence the manifestation of rainbows.

That makes sense

Maybe the goal is for us to ultimately wake up while swimming in samara. This art is enlightening.

Thank you @brucebrownftw may we all find true happiness.

That would be great to be able to eliminate ignorance!

I like your new painting!

I've always wondered what it would feel like if I was without conditioning and could see reality as it is without the veils of ignorance. I bet the feeling is indescribable! Thank you @warriorlion.

I didn't think to write about that before! @reddust

Nice Art mam @reddust

Colorful Art (so cool)

You know love you, right?:) I just have not enough english words to express my feelings about each piece of your art:)

I love your dedication, you networking ability, your strength of character, and your artwork, the background was perfect and highlighted an amazing painting of Lord Vader. People say the word love is trivialized, I think we don't say, "I Love You," enough.

Thank you for being a positive influence on Steemit and I love you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46