The Demon Guardian Who Ate Himself

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The World Will Never Be Safe

Cryptic header, I'll explain how this is related to Kiritimukha in my next post!

I am still not finished! I decided to add an armor design to the background. My granddaughter E asked me to paint this picture. I love black and white inked drawings, E loves color!

Now I have to research the colors of sense offerings, the picture has music, silk, fruit, wine, and a mirror. I will explain what these objects mean in my next post. This was a fascinating read for me.

I left links to some of my research if you want to know what mukha means or the many faces of Kirtimukha the monster and where he lives. Also in my wandering through the data fields of the internet I found a wonderful article written by a powerful Khondro regarding sense offerings and shrines. What a shrine is for in practice within the art of living.

I spent all day drawing the background. I again got sick to my tummy, the design is disorienting, I persevered and by the end of the day, although not perfect, I can draw the design freehand!

You are The Monster And The Saint

The Shrine Is Ones Own Mind

The most important aspect of any practice is the mind. It is not necessary to set up a shrine to practice meditation or to tame the mind. But the vajrayana path of practice is a very gentle and skillful way to train the mind through very precise and disciplined methods. In vajrayana every recitation, ritual, or symbol must be seen as a way to train the mind’s essential mindfulness and awareness.

The Shrine as Field of Merit and Support for Practice, Mindrolling, Jetsün Khandro Rinpoche

The Many Faces Of Kirtimukha

Sort:  

Excellent post, great story congratulations dear friend @reddust for this wonderful work

WOW @reddust - this is GORGEOUS and an amazing amount of work. I am blown away by your talent.

Thank ya kindly @merej99, I hope the new job is going well. First layer of paint is going well!

Wow! That is some dedication and determination! A great thing for E to see the whole process and what it takes to make such a detailed piece.

Thank you @hapazard-hstead being a gardner you know all about strong determination. E has the ability to move beyond the doubt and pain of creating something she has never done before...I'm cultivating that quality! She sits and watches me. We have a no talking rule when she wants to watch. She takes after my Aunt Cleva, my Father's sister, they are chatter boxes!

That's interesting how you describe creating art -- moving "beyond the doubt and pain of creating". E is getting a lot from you being there with the family!

I Hope so! That's what Grandparents are for👵🏻

Wow, it is looking so great! really looking forward to seeing the colors you use because it's so well done and detailed. I love these ancient symbolic drawings, they speak to the soul for sure. So true about being the monster and the saint too. Awesome! :D

@jonjon1, this is so much fun, well after I got over the disorienting feeling from the patterns, so much fun! The pattern is called armor, like what one would wear when fighting, chain link type...

That's cool, you work so fast too. Looking really good, keep going :)

It's the new coffee,☕️😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.28